> Skip to content
Read an extract
Play sample
  • Published: 30 April 2024
  • ISBN: 9781761345449
  • Imprint: Michael Joseph
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 352
  • RRP: $34.99

The Studio Girls




The Studio Girls is a sumptuous, nostalgic journey back to the glamorous Golden Age of cinema and the intoxicating world of Tinseltown, where nothing is quite what it seems . . .

‘Fans of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo will love Lisa Ireland‘s cinematic new novel. Set in the Golden Age of Hollywood, The Studio Girls is opulent and scandalous, yet ultimately uplifting. Ireland’s best yet!‘ Sally Hepworth

‘A novel about love, friendship and the Golden Age of Hollywood. What more could you want? I LOVED it.‘ Rachael Johns

‘Inspired by fascinating real-life history, The Studio Girls is a stunning tale of love, friendship and secrets, perfect for fans of Natasha Lester and Fiona Davis. Sure to be one of the biggest books of 2024!‘ Kelly Rimmer

‘If Sex and the City were set in 1950s Hollywood, with the perfect mix of gossip, glam and scandal! But it’s the moving friendships, heartbreaks and the enduring spirit of these women that make this book hard to put down.‘ Kerryn Mayne

It’s 1955, and four talented young women become best friends while living at the Hollywood Studio Club, the famous boarding house for movie hopefuls.

Julia Newman is a rising star. As Goldstar Studios‘ ‘new Grace Kelly’, she has been sent to the club to keep her out of trouble, though Julia is just thrilled to finally make friends.

For Peggy Carmichael, Julia’s roommate, life is not so easy. She takes classes, auditions constantly, and grabs whatever bit-part is offered. Still, her ‘big break’ remains stubbornly out of reach.

Meanwhile, Vivienne Lockhart, the most talented actress of them all, is constantly reduced to ‘sexpot’ roles. She’ll do whatever it takes to succeed. But is she driven by ambition, or by a heartbreaking need to be loved?

Finally, there’s aspiring scriptwriter Sadie Shore, who has little interest in the trappings of fame. Particularly when she becomes the PA of a big studio boss and her eyes are opened to the perils of her friends’ dreams . . .

  • Published: 30 April 2024
  • ISBN: 9781761345449
  • Imprint: Michael Joseph
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 352
  • RRP: $34.99

About the author

Lisa Ireland

After working for many years as a teacher (and a brief stint as a professional organiser – before Marie Kondo made it cool), Lisa Ireland is now a full-time writer.

Lisa lives with her husband in a small town in Gippsland, Victoria. When not writing, she spends her days mentoring aspiring authors, drinking coffee and playing minion to her incredibly spoiled dog, Lulu.

Lisa's eighth novel, The Studio Girls, will be published in April 2024.

Also by Lisa Ireland

See all

Praise for The Studio Girls

Fans of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo will love Lisa Ireland’s cinematic new novel. Set in the Golden Age of Hollywood, The Studio Girls is opulent and scandalous, yet ultimately uplifting. Ireland’s best yet!

Sally Hepworth

A novel about love, friendship and the Golden Age of Hollywood. What more could you want? I loved it.

Rachael Johns

Inspired by fascinating real-life history, The Studio Girls is a stunning tale of love, friendship and secrets, perfect for fans of Natasha Lester and Fiona Davis. Sure to be one of the biggest books of 2024!

Kelly Rimmer

As if Sex and the City were set in 1950s Hollywood, with the perfect mix of gossip, glam and scandal! But it’s the moving friendships, heartbreaks and the enduring spirit of these women that made this book hard to put down.

Kerryn Mayne

Discover more

Article
The Studio Girls book club Questions

A sumptuous, nostalgic book about the Golden Age of cinema to read with your book club