> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 18 July 2013
  • ISBN: 9781448148714
  • Imprint: Ebury Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 496
Categories:

The Servant Girl




A gripping family saga from the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Coal Miner's Daughter. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Dilly Court

She is the downstairs maid; he is the Master’s son...

Forced to become a kitchen maid at Fortune Hall, Hetty Pearson strikes up an unlikely friendship with the younger son of the house, Richard.

But Hetty is just a poor servant girl: what hope does she have of either winning Richard’s heart or escaping his older brother’s more base attentions?

Note: previously published as THE JEWEL STREETS by Una Horne

  • Pub date: 18 July 2013
  • ISBN: 9781448148714
  • Imprint: Ebury Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 496

About the Author

Maggie Hope

Maggie Hope was born in County Durham, during the Depression of the 1930s. She is the daughter of a coal miner and knows first-hand the hardships suffered by miners and their families during that time.

Along with her three sisters, she was raised in a ‘two-up-two-down’ miner’s cottage with no inside toilet. Growing up, Maggie never dreamed she could earn a living from her writing. Instead she left school at sixteen and became a nurse, collecting stories from colleagues who had served during the war.

Maggie gave up nursing when she married her husband and started a family. It wasn’t until she was in her 50s though that she finally began her writing career. She is now the Sunday Times bestselling author of fifteen novels.

Also by Maggie Hope

See all

Related titles