> Skip to content

A naturalist probes the forest, mainly at night, to comprehend the secret lives of owls. From pygmy owls to opportunistic barred and majestic great horned owls, eleven prevalent species are observed in this book that will appeal to readers of Crow Nation and H is for Hawk.

Join a naturalist on adventures into the world of owls, owl-watching, avian science, and the deep forest—often in the dead of night. Whether you’re tracking snowy or great horned owls, these birds are a bit mysterious, and that’s part of what makes them so fascinating. Owls are iconic, and there are lots of them in the Western states, even though we hardly ever see them.

Leigh Calvez pursues eleven different owl species—includng the Barred, Flammulated, Northern Saw-Whet, Northern Pygmy, Northern Spotted, Burrowing, Snowy, and Great Gray. Calvez makes the science entertaining and accessible through the stories of the people who are obsessed with these birds and her own avian adventures in the field. The thuggish behavior of barred owls puts the spotted owl at risk, so the federal wildlife agency is actually shooting them in Washington and Oregon. The highly unusual appearance of arctic snowy owls in the Lower 48 directly reflects the state of the vole population in the Arctic. Along the way, the author entertainingly explores the questions about the human-animal connection, owl obsession, habitat, owl calls, social behavior, and mythology. Hoot!

Formats & editions

  • Trade Paperback

    9781632170255

    August 18, 2016

    Sasquatch

    224 pages

    RRP $29.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

Recommendations

Field Guide to the Birds of Australia - 8th Edition
The Robin
The Secret Life of the Owl
Bird Words
The Curious Bird Lover’s Handbook
The Sibley Birder's Life List And Field Diary
H is for Hawk (The Birds and the Bees)
The Running Sky (The Birds and the Bees)
Crow Country (The Birds and the Bees)
Penguins and Other Sea Birds
A Sky Full of Birds
Birdscaping Australian Gardens
The Hand Guide to the Birds of New Zealand
Caterina and the Best Beach Day
National Geographic Complete Guide To The Birds Of North America, 2nd Edition
Guide to Troubled Birds
Where Song Began: Australia's Birds and How They Changed the World
Birds and People
National Geographic Pocket Guide To The Birds Of North America
Mateship With Birds