> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 15 January 2017
  • ISBN: 9781784162153
  • Imprint: Black Swan
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $19.99

The French Lesson




A brand new historical novel set in the French Revolution by the acclaimed author of the hit BBC drama THE SCANDALOUS LADY W. For fans of VICTORIA and DOWNTON ABBEY

For fans of TV dramas like 'Victoria', 'Downton Abbey' and 'Poldark'

'A riveting novel of female intrigue, betrayal and revenge in the French Revolution. Read it!' LUCY WORSLEY

PARIS, 1792

It was a head, but one so bloodied, so rolled in filth, that it was scarcely recognisable but for its long red curls. It had been stuck on a pike like a lump of bread upon a toasting fork ...

Henrietta Lightfoot trips on her silk gown as she runs for her life along the bloodstained streets of revolutionary Paris. She finds refuge in the lavish home of Grace Dalyrmple Elliott, one of the old regime's most powerful courtesans. But heads are beginning to roll. Outside, the guillotine mercilessly claims its victims, while inside society's gilded salons, Henrietta becomes a pawn in a vicious power game. How will she survive in a world where no one can be trusted?

'A gleefully modern retelling of a juicy chapter in history' The Times
'Rubenhold unfolds a complicated plot with great dexterity' Sunday Times
'Compelling, operatic, modern' SIMON SEBAG MONTEFIORE
'Dark and delicious' Red Magazine

  • Pub date: 15 January 2017
  • ISBN: 9781784162153
  • Imprint: Black Swan
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $19.99

About the Author

Hallie Rubenhold

Hallie Rubenhold is a social historian and an authority on women's lives of the past. She has worked as a curator for the National Portrait Gallery and as a university lecturer. Her books include Lady Worsley's Whim, dramatized by the BBC as The Scandalous Lady W, and Covent Garden Ladies: The Extraordinary Story of Harris's List, which inspired the ITV series Harlots. She lives in London with her husband.

Also by Hallie Rubenhold

See all

Praise for The French Lesson

“Henrietta Lightfoot's exploits in Revolutionary France are irresistible. She's a heroine you can't put down.”

LUCY WORSLEY

“A deliciously dark novel”

Red Magazine

“Georgette Heyer meets Flashman ... A gleefully modern retelling of a juicy chapter in history”

The Times

“Rubenhold unfolds a complicated plot with great dexterity, brilliantly evoking a society in which traditional bonds are being sundered.”

Sunday Times

“'Compelling and operatic . . . Reads like a modern thriller’”

SIMON SEBAG MONTEFIORE, author of The Romanovs


Related titles