> Skip to content
Play sample
  • Published: 21 April 2016
  • ISBN: 9781473542013
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: Audio Download
  • Length: 12 hr 0 min
  • RRP: $24.99

The French Lesson

By the award-winning and Sunday Times bestselling author of THE FIVE




A brand new historical novel set in the French Revolution by the author of the hit BBC drama THE SCANDALOUS LADY W. Recommended read: for fans of THE MINIATURIST and LONGBOURN

'Compelling and operatic...Reads like a modern thriller' SIMON SEBAG MONTEFIORE, author of The Romanovs

'A dark and irresistible historical novel' LUCY WORSLEY

1789: Henrietta Lightfoot, a young Englishwoman, trips on her silk gown as she runs for her life along the bloodstained streets of revolutionary Paris. She finds refuge in the opulent home of Grace Dalyrmple Elliott, the city's most celebrated courtesan. But heads are rolling, neighbours fear neighbours, and masters whisper before servants. As the sound of the guillotine echoes outside, within the gilded salons of high society Henrietta becomes a pawn in a vicious game of female power. How will she survive in a world where no one can be trusted?

  • Published: 21 April 2016
  • ISBN: 9781473542013
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: Audio Download
  • Length: 12 hr 0 min
  • RRP: $24.99

About the author

Hallie Rubenhold

Hallie Rubenhold is the Number One Sunday Times bestselling and Baillie Gifford Non-Fiction prize-winning social historian whose expertise lies in revealing stories of previously unknown women and episodes in history. By drawing upon a wealth of formerly unseen archival material and adding a full historical context to the victims' lives, The Five changes the narrative of these murders for ever. Rubenhold's books include Lady Worsley's Whim, dramatized by the BBC as 'The Scandalous Lady W', and Covent Garden Ladies: The Extraordinary Story of Harris's List, which inspired the ITV series 'Harlots'. She has also written two acclaimed novels of female intrigue, revenge and betrayal: Mistress of My Fate and The French Lesson. She lives in London with her husband.

Also by Hallie Rubenhold

See all

Praise for The French Lesson

Henrietta Lightfoot's exploits in Revolutionary France are irresistible. She's a heroine you can't put down.

LUCY WORSLEY

A deliciously dark novel

Red Magazine

Georgette Heyer meets Flashman ... A gleefully modern retelling of a juicy chapter in history

The Times

Rubenhold unfolds a complicated plot with great dexterity, brilliantly evoking a society in which traditional bonds are being sundered.

Sunday Times

'Compelling and operatic . . . Reads like a modern thriller’

SIMON SEBAG MONTEFIORE, author of The Romanovs

Related titles