> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 September 2011
  • ISBN: 9781409011323
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 512

Mistress of My Fate

By the award-winning and Sunday Times bestselling author of THE FIVE




The pageturning debut historical novel by Sunday Times No. 1 bestselling and award-winning author of THE FIVE: THE WOMEN KILLED BY JACK THE RIPPER


Perfect for fans of BBC TV's hit series BRIDGERTON and HARLOTS

'A remarkable picture of a fascinating age' DAILY EXPRESS
'A full-blooded historical' INDEPENDENT

____________________
My tale is not for the faint of heart.

Born illegitimate in eighteenth-century England, Henrietta Lightfoot reveals the truth about the events that shaped her in this candid confessional of a wide-eyed girl's journey to worldliness.

Forced to flee her childhood home for the capital, Henrietta falls face first into a demi-monde of rakes, rogues, wits, pimps and courtesans. Soon, she realizes true liberty is a privilege only for men. But Henrietta is determined to find independence.

In this deliciously deviant novel, Rubenhold illuminates the dark lives of the women written out of eighteenth-century literature by the great male writers. Vibrant and full-blooded, it is an unputdownable picaresque story for our times

READERS' LOVE FOR MISTRESS OF MY FATE:
***** 'Having read THE FIVE, i thought I would try this. Brilliant, brilliant!'
***** 'If you like historical fiction, I strongly recommend'
***** 'I could not put it down'

.

  • Published: 1 September 2011
  • ISBN: 9781409011323
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 512

About the author

Hallie Rubenhold

Hallie Rubenhold is the Number One Sunday Times bestselling and Baillie Gifford Non-Fiction prize-winning social historian whose expertise lies in revealing stories of previously unknown women and episodes in history. By drawing upon a wealth of formerly unseen archival material and adding a full historical context to the victims' lives, The Five changes the narrative of these murders for ever. Rubenhold's books include Lady Worsley's Whim, dramatized by the BBC as 'The Scandalous Lady W', and Covent Garden Ladies: The Extraordinary Story of Harris's List, which inspired the ITV series 'Harlots'. She has also written two acclaimed novels of female intrigue, revenge and betrayal: Mistress of My Fate and The French Lesson. She lives in London with her husband.

Also by Hallie Rubenhold

See all

Praise for Mistress of My Fate

A full-blooded historical romp - two parts Lizzie Bennett and Tom Jones's Sophia Western to one part Moll Flanders - with a splash of Fanny Hill.

Independent

A vibrant coming of age story...ricochets with bawdy energy, witty observation and rollicking pace between brothels, theatres and the corridors of political power. Lots of fun.

Easy Living

Rollicking good read...A remarkable picture of a fascinating age which combined extraordinary bawdiness with silky sophistication (think Hogarth and Gainsborough).

Daily Express

Related titles