> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 8 October 2015
  • ISBN: 9781473505865
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 384
Categories:

The Clasp




For fans of ONE DAY, THE MARRIAGE PLOT and THEN WE CAME TO THE END, a comedy of manners for the quarter-life crisis generation.

'Glitters with wit and wisdom' Guardian
'A thing of pure joy' Stylist
'I couldn't put it down' Grazia

Back in college, Victor loved Kezia, Kezia loved Nathaniel and Nathaniel loved himself.

Now, ten years on and reunited at the wedding of a friend, it’s as if nothing has changed. Almost.

Victor has just been fired from a middling search engine, Kezia is second-in-command to an eccentric jewellery designer, and Nathaniel, former literary cool kid, is now one of LA’s two million aspiring TV writers. As the champagne flows, Victor finds himself sharing a bizarre encounter with the mother of the groom that triggers an obsession over a legendary necklace.

Could a trip to Paris in search of the missing piece of jewellery doom or save their friendship?

  • Pub date: 8 October 2015
  • ISBN: 9781473505865
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 384

About the Author

Sloane Crosley

Sloane is a regular contributor to the New York Times and has also written for the Guardian, Elle, GQ and the Wall Street Journal. Her essay collections, I Was Told There’d Be Cake and How Did You Get This Number, were New York Times bestsellers. She lives in New York and THE CLASP is her first novel.

Also by Sloane Crosley

See all

Praise for The Clasp

“to describe [The Clasp] as a list of its parts does this intelligent, charming book a disservice. Its fast-paced, eventful plot is layered over a warm and insightful look at the intricacies of adult friendship”

The Bookseller

“Sharp-nibbed…the take-home lessons in integrity and self-knowledge are winningly delivered”

Daily Mail

“I took so much pleasure in every sentence of THE CLASP, fell so completely under the spell of its narrative tone--equal parts bite and tenderness, a dash of rue--and became so caught up in the charmingly dented protagonists and their off-kilter caper, that the book's emotional power, building steadily and quietly, caught me off-guard, and left me with a lump in my throat.”

Michael Chabon

“A touching but never sentimental portrait of a trio of quasi-adults turning into adult adults, this is one of those rare deeply literary books that also features -- a plot! From the shores of Florida to the coast of Normandy, wonderful, unforgettable things happen in this enormously hilarious novel. And they are written in a language so beautiful, I gnashed my teeth at Sloane Crosley's talent.”

Gary Shteyngart

“Sloane Crosley's debut novel is hilarious, insightful, and full of characters and situations that only Sloane Crosley could devise. The laugh-out-loud observations and dialogue that make her essays such a delight to read shine through in her fiction too. The Clasp is a gem.”

J. Courtney Sullivan

“I opened THE CLASP and immediately realized that I'd been waiting far too long for Sloane Crosley to write a novel. Crosley is a literary addiction. There is no substitute. She is curious. She is smart. She is hilarious and edgy and generous and impossible to stop reading. Moreover, she misses nothing. Her attention to the seemingly smallest details—material, social, psychological—reveal, as the pages turn, an intricately tooled world that is as familiar as it is dazzling and new. ”

Heidi Julavits

“Part comedy of manners, part adventure story, this is an inspired first novel…a blast from start to finish”

Tatler

“It’s laugh-out-loud funny, heart-in-your-throat melancholy and manages to be a Parisian-set caper as well. Joy.”

The Debrief

“A sharp, witty coming of age tale – if you work on the principle that of age is now more likely to be 30 than 21”

The Pool

“A huge hilarious pleasure from start to finish”

Woman and Home

“Elegant storytelling”

i Paper

“Perfect beach read, smart, funny and heartfelt.”

Ion Magazine

“An entertaining homage to Maupassant…There is barely a page of the novel that doesn’t glitter with some nugget of wit or wisdom”

Guardian

“Crosley’s debut novel showcases much of the same razor-sharp wit as her New York Times bestselling essay collections … she nails it”

The Independent

“A smart, witty read with a lot of heart”

Red

“Brilliant writing and astutely drawn characters … I couldn’t put it down”

Grazia

“[Crosley’s] prose is the literary equivalent of a light-as-air soufflé, made from recipes by Candace Bushnell and a young Donna Tartt … consistently witty … a real comic talent”

Independent on Sunday

“Sharp and funny”

Good Housekeeping

“A thing of pure joy…The Clasp is an absolute delight”

Stylist

“Highly comic, highly affecting novel”

The New York Times

“Seriously impressive…as smart as it is funny”

Glamour

“A novel with more verve and imagination than much of the plot-light fare that typically gets the high-literary treatment, a story that shares at least some DNA with ambitious capers like Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch and Marisha Pessl’s Special Topics in Calamity Physics.”

Vogue US


Related titles