> Skip to content
  • Published: 10 January 2023
  • ISBN: 9781761049323
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 144
  • RRP: $17.99

Super Sidekicks 1: No Adults Allowed

Full Colour Edition




Can the SIDEKICKS start their own SUPER team?! New York Times bestselling Australian cartoonist Gavin Aung Than delivers caped crusaders, dinosaurs and goo in this hilarious graphic novel series, perfect for fans of CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS!

'Everyone loves an underdog. SUPER SIDEKICKS is a winner!' Lincoln Peirce, author of BIG NATE

Superheroes have it soooo easy. They don't have to clean their secret headquarters, wash alien bloodstains out of their costumes, or walk Super Mutt. NO! They leave that for their sidekicks, while they get all the credit.

Well, Junior Justice, aka J.J., has had ENOUGH! He thinks it's time the sidekicks made a team of their own. Dinomite and Flygirl are ready to join the team, but first they have to prove to the adult superheroes that they're more than just sidekicks. And once the evil Dr Enok discovers his favorite pet Goo has left him, the world might need saving sooner rather than later . . .

'Super Sidekicks delivers action, a super side-splitting good time, and proof that heroes can come from anywhere! Giving a copy to a young reader is the most heroic thing you can do.' Andrew McDonald and Ben Wood, creators of the Real Pigeons series

  • Published: 10 January 2023
  • ISBN: 9781761049323
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 144
  • RRP: $17.99

Other books in the series

About the author

Gavin Aung Than

Gavin Aung Than is a freelance cartoonist based in Perth, Australia. His webcomic Zen Pencils, a cartoon blog which adapts inspirational quotes into comic stories, has been featured by The Washington Post, The Huffington Post, Slate, Buzzfeed, Gawker and Brain Pickings, and was named one of the top 100 websites of 2013 by PC Mag. Zen Pencils has also been collected into New York Times bestselling books. His first series for children, Super Sidekicks, grew out of Gavin's long-time obsession with superheroes.

Also by Gavin Aung Than

See all

Praise for Super Sidekicks 1: No Adults Allowed

Super Sidekicks: No Adults Allowed is filled with crazy comic-book fun and adventure. The series is perfect for any young reader who loves a good baddie.

Heather Zubek, West Australian

This is the first in a series that will appeal to those who like lots of action and adventures in their stories and a graphic novel format making it an easy read for the newly independent reader. Given the popularity of superhero movies . . . this is a series that has the protagonists at a similar age to the reader so they will be able to take on their favourite role as they immerse themselves in it.

Barbara Braxton, Teacher Librarian, thebottomshelf.edublogs.org

Cartoonist Gavin Aung Than combines his artistic talent and superhero obsession in a graphic novel sure to engage young, adventure-loving readers . . . It's super stuff.

Herald Sun

This adventure in laughter and friendship along with the comedic black and white illustrations make this graphic novel a must read.

kids-bookreview.com

An excellent, super-fun mini graphic novel that perfectly captures the superhero genre whilst also speaking to any reader who’s ever felt unfairly undervalued just because they’re a child . . . A clever story of empowerment told in a fresh new voice and wrapped up in a superhero comic package.

booktrust.org.uk

Super Sidekicks delivers action, a super side-splitting good time, and proof that heroes can come from anywhere! Giving a copy to a young reader is the most heroic thing you can do.

Andrew McDonald and Ben Wood, creators of the Real Pigeons series

Awards & recognition

Speech Pathology Australia Book of the Year Awards

Shortlisted  •  2020  •  Eight to 10 Years

Discover more

Article
Stock your school library with these wonderful books

26 books for school libraries that students will love.

Article
Does your kid hate reading? Try these graphic novels for every age group

Graphic novels are the perfect way to get disinterested readers to pick up a book. Check out some of the best graphic novels for kids of all ages. 

Video
Super Sidekicks 1: No Adults Allowed by Gavin Aung Than

Can the SIDEKICKS start their own SUPER team?! New York Times bestselling Australian cartoonist Gavin Aung Than delivers caped crusaders, dinosaurs and goo in this hilarious graphic novel series, perfect for fans of CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS! Buy it now: https://www.penguin.com.au/books/super-sidekicks-1-no-adults-allowed-9781761049323

Article
Our 5 most popular activity packs

And other great ideas for indoor days.

Video
Super Sidekicks - No Adults Allowed by Gavin Aung Than

Get ready for superheroes, supervillains and super-hilarious adventures in this brand new series about four young sidekicks, from New York Times bestselling Australian author Gavin Aung Than!