> Skip to content

Activity  •  15 December 2022

 

At home lesson: How to create a graphic novel with Super Sidekicks

Part One

For parents and teachers: This is a fun unit of work for years 3-5 that will improve visual literacy, trigger imaginative thinking, improve fine motor skills and increase vocabulary. It is appropriate for independent learning and can be done in an hour, though some students will find they enjoy the activities so much, they will want to keep going.

For students: Follow the steps below and by the end of it, you’ll be on your way to creating your own graphic novel, which is a book that is a little bit like a comic.

1. It’s time to get excited! Watch this little trailer (48 secs) that has been made to let people know about the book:

2. Click on the link below to read some of the first pages from the book. Take your time and enjoy. https://www.penguin.com.au/books/super-sidekicks-1-no-adults-allowed-9781761049323

3. Did you read some of the book? What did you notice about the words fhoof, smash and boom? Did they look different to you? All of these words are SOUNDS. Copy one of the words out on a blank piece of paper. Try to make the font look just like it does in the book.

4. Try matching the sidekick to the superhero on this sheet:

5. Now you know who everyone is, you can make them say whatever you want in this action scene. If you can’t print this out, write what each one says on a separate piece of paper. Have a go at drawing their missing faces as well:

6. Now it’s time to create your own team of sidekicks. What special ability will each of them have and how will they work together?

7. Choose your favourite sidekick from the above. You’re going to have your character meet the Super Sidekicks. On the below colouring-in sheet, add in the following:

  • Your sidekick – draw a picture of them somewhere in this scene
  • A word that is a sound – draw it
  • A speech bubble and write in what the sidekick is saying

If you feel like colouring it in, go ahead. Challenge: try to give the characters some shading so they look 3D.

8. Want something super fun? A good cartoonist pays attention to details. See if you can spot the seven differences between the pictures below:

That’s the end of our lesson today but you can continue the Super Sidekicks fun by reading the books, which can be bought online from all good bookstores. See: https://www.penguin.com.au/books/super-sidekicks-1-no-adults-allowed-9781761049323

THANK YOU!

Teachers and parents, further resources around this book can be found here:

https://www.penguin.com.au/content/resources/TR_SuperSidekicksUpd.pdf

Feature Title

Super Sidekicks 1: No Adults Allowed
Can the SIDEKICKS start their own SUPER team?! New York Times bestselling Australian cartoonist Gavin Aung Than delivers caped crusaders, dinosaurs and goo in this hilarious graphic novel series, perfect for fans of CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS!
Read more

More features

See all activities
Activity
Our 5 most popular activity packs

And other great ideas for indoor days.

Article
Stock your school library with these wonderful books

26 books for school libraries that students will love.

Article
Does your kid hate reading? Try these graphic novels for every age group

Graphic novels are the perfect way to get disinterested readers to pick up a book. Check out some of the best graphic novels for kids of all ages. 

Activity
Penguin Random House children’s authors at Sydney Writers’ Festival 2024

Learn more about the children’s authors who were part of the 2024 Sydney Writers' Festival and check out their books.

Activity
Detective Beans colouring-in activity

Detective Beans and the Case of the Missing Hat colouring activity.

Activity
Bluey Mother's Day colouring-in activity for the whole family!

Wackadoo! Unwind with this great colouring-in activity, just in time for Mother’s Day!

Activity
Only The Astronauts creative writing project

Introduce students to a new form of narration with this activity inspired by Ceridwen Dovey’s new book, Only The Astronauts.

Activity
Play and Grow with The Very Hungry Caterpillar

Join The Very Hungry Caterpillar on his adventures with these fun activities.

Activity
Countdown to Yesterday Word Search

Download a free activity pack!

Activity
Activity
Emma Memma colouring-in activity

Colour in with Emma Memma!

Activity
Chico the Schnauzer colouring activity

A fun colouring-in activity for dog lovers!

Looking for more activities?

See all activities