> Skip to content
Read an extract About the book
  • Published: 2 June 2020
  • ISBN: 9781760893026
  • Imprint: Bantam Australia
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 400
  • RRP: $32.99
Categories:

Sticks and Stones




A terrifying, twisting debut from TV news journalist Katherine Firkin. It's time for a killer to leave his mark . . .

'Lisa Gardner meets Harlan Coben in this impressive debut that's as disturbing as it is twisty. Firkin takes readers into the mind of a killer like no one else!' Charlie Donlea

It’s winter in Melbourne and Detective Emmett Corban is starting to regret his promotion to head of the Missing Persons Unit, as the routine reports pile up on his desk.

So when Natale Gibson goes missing, he’s convinced this is the big case he’s been waiting for – the woman’s husband and parents insist the devoted mother would never abandon her children, and her personal accounts remain untouched.

But things aren’t all they seem. The close-knit Italian family is keeping secrets - none bigger than the one Natale has been hiding.

Just as the net seems to be tightening, the investigation is turned on its head. The body of a woman is found . . . then another.

What had seemed like a standard missing person's case has turned into a frightening hunt for a serial killer, and time is running out.

But to really understand these shocking crimes, Emmett and his team will need to delve back through decades of neglect – back to a squalid inner-city flat, where a young boy is left huddling over his mother’s body . . .


'A crisp police procedural that shows its characters in both darkness and light . . . A suspenseful, assured debut for fans of Sarah Bailey and Chris Hammer.' Books + Publishing

  • Pub date: 2 June 2020
  • ISBN: 9781760893026
  • Imprint: Bantam Australia
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 400
  • RRP: $32.99

About the Author

Katherine Firkin

Katherine Firkin is a Melbourne journalist, currently with CBS New York.

She has over a decade of experience and has worked across every medium – print, online, television and radio.

Katherine began her career at the Herald Sun newspaper (News Corp), where she specialised in sports reporting (winning an AFL Media award in 2008), before moving to breaking news, including crime and court reporting. During this time, she covered some of Victoria’s most notorious criminal affairs, including the death and funeral of underworld figure Carl Williams.

She has also worked for Seven West Media (7 News, 7 Sport), 3AW Radio, the Nine Network's Today show, and Network Ten, and has been a regular international correspondent for multiple global outlets.

Katherine has been writing fiction from a young age, and she studied literature and journalism at university. Her debut novel is inspired by the many criminal trials she has covered.

You can find her here:
https://www.katherinefirkin.com
https://twitter.com/KatherineFirkin
https://www.instagram.com/katherinefirkin/


Praise for Sticks and Stones

“Lisa Gardner meets Harlan Coben in this impressive debut that's as disturbing as it is twisty. Firkin takes readers into the mind of a killer like no one else!”

Charlie Donlea, bestselling author of THE GIRL WHO WAS TAKEN

“A crisp police procedural that shows its characters in both darkness and light . . . A suspenseful, assured debut for fans of Sarah Bailey and Chris Hammer.”

Books + Publishing


Discover More

Q&A
Sticks and Stones author and journalist Katherine Firkin on the true crime that’s helped shape her thrilling fiction debut.

Related titles