> Skip to content
  • Published: 28 March 2013
  • ISBN: 9781409030249
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 592

Rome: The Art of War




The stunning new Roman novel featuring Sebastos Pantera, set during the year of the Four Emperors.

The Sunday Times bestselling author Manda Scott brings Ancient Rome to life in this memorable tale of treachery, espionage and violence. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow, Robert Harris and Conn Iggulden."Superior in almost every way...one of the most entertaining "Roman" novels I have read...Head and shoulders above the crowd" -- Simon Scarrow"Intricately woven, cleverly plotted. Miss this at your peril!" - Ben Kane "Excellent series - each book was a joy to read - final book kept you guessing right up until the end" -- ***** Reader review"A superb and exciting read, finished at 3am, and which I cannot recommend enough..." -- ***** Reader review"There's only one way in which I could say Manda Scott's work is predictable: every time I pick up a new Scott book, I can guarantee it will be new, refreshing, fascinating and totally different from anything that's gone before." -- ***** Reader review***************************************************

ROME ON A KNIFE EDGE. A TRAITOR IN THE MIDST. Rome: AD69. The Year of the Four Emperors. Three Emperors have ruled in Rome this year and a fourth, Vespasian, has been named in the East.

As the legions march toward civil war, Sebastos Pantera, the spy whose name means leopard, returns to Rome intent on bribery, blackmail and persuasion: whatever it takes to bring the commanders and their men to Vespasian's side.

But in Rome, as he uses every skill he has ever learned of subterfuge, codes and camouflage, it becomes clear that one of those closest to him is a traitor, who will let Rome fall to destroy him.

Together the two spies spin a web of deceit with Rome as the prize and death the only escape.

  • Published: 28 March 2013
  • ISBN: 9781409030249
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 592

About the author

Manda Scott

Over the past two decades Manda Scott has brought iconic historical figures back to life, reimagined and re-booted for the twenty-first century. Her crime novels have been shortlisted for many awards including Hen's Teeth for the Orange Prize and No Good Deed for an Edgar Award. Her work has been translated into over twenty languages.

Manda’s bestselling Boudica series was recently optioned for television.

Also by Manda Scott

See all

Praise for Rome: The Art of War

A memorable tale of treachery, espionage and violence...Ancient Rome is brought vividly and vibrantly to life

Nick Rennison, BBC History Magazine

Related titles