> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 3 June 2013
  • ISBN: 9780552161817
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 480
  • RRP: $19.99

Rome: The Eagle Of The Twelfth

Rome 3


Formats & editions


A breathtakingly compelling story of a legion at war in the tradition of Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow

Demalion of Macedon never wanted to be a legionary. An unwilling recruit, he is appalled to be posted to the infamous XIIth legion, notorious for its ill luck. Promoted slowly through the ranks, he does his best to please his superiors, and in doing so, finds that he has come to love his legion, that he will willingly give up his life - and his chance of death - to protect its sacred heart: the Eagle.

  • Pub date: 3 June 2013
  • ISBN: 9780552161817
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 480
  • RRP: $19.99

About the Author

M C Scott

MC Scott qualified as a veterinary surgeon and taught at the University of Cambridge before turning a lifelong passion for the ancient world into a best-selling writing career.

As well as undertaking research in the University library for this series of novels, Scott is noted for the depth, accuracy and textured depictions of life in Roman times. She and has spent weeks living in a roundhouse, has learned to make Roman swords and driven horses in harness the better to bring the detail to life. As Chair of the Historical Writers' Association, Scott is active in the promotion of all forms of historical writing.

For more information on all aspects of her work, visit: www.mcscott.co.uk

For the Historical Writers' Association, see: www.TheHWA.co.uk

Also by M C Scott

See all

Praise for Rome: The Eagle Of The Twelfth

“This is a book that honours all those who have fought for a cause. It is a tale that shines like the Eagle at its heart.I suspect that no one else writes like MC Scott. I’m certain plenty wish they could.”

Giles Kristian

“Brutal, touching, learned and above all captivating. This story of defeat and victory in Rome's war with Parthia had me hooked from the first page.”

Tony Riches

“Gladiator meets Tinker Tailor in a baroque landscape”

Robert Lowe

“M.C.Scott stakes a bold claim to a place in the canon of cherished adventures. Rome: The Eagle of the Twelfth succeeds thrillingly. It’s gripping, absorbing, and thoroughly entertaining, right to the last moment of desperate action and decision.”

Robert Wilton

“Stirring stuff written by a lady who has proved her worth over and over again, rivalling any other offerings by popular male writers such as Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow.”

Shropshire Star


Related titles