> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 1 February 2011
  • ISBN: 9781409087038
  • Imprint: Vintage Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 336
Categories:

No Highway




A classic adventure from the author of A Town Like Alice and On the Beach.

Theodore Honey is a shy, inconspicous aircraft engineer whose eccentric interests in quantum mechanics and spiritualism are frowned upon in aviation circles. But when a passenger plane crashes in unexplained circumstances, Honey must convince his superiors that his unorthodox theories are correct before more lives are lost.

  • Pub date: 1 February 2011
  • ISBN: 9781409087038
  • Imprint: Vintage Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 336

About the Author

Nevil Shute Norway

Nevil Shute Norway was born on 17 January 1899 in Ealing, London. After attending the Dragon School and Shrewsbury School, he studied Engineering Science at Balliol College, Oxford. He worked as an aeronautical engineer and published his first novel, Marazan, in 1926. In 1931 he married Frances Mary Heaton and they went on to have two daughters. During the Second World War he joined the Royal Navy Volunteer Reserve where he worked on developing secret weapons. After the war he continued to write and settled in Australia where he lived until his death on 12 January 1960. His most celebrated novels include Pied Piper (1942), No Highway (1948), A Town Like Alice (1950) and On the Beach (1957).

Also by Nevil Shute Norway

See all

Praise for No Highway

“No Highway is a novel which engages the heart and grips the mind”

Evening Standard

“Shute was a brilliant storyteller and terrific example for any writer”

Gerald Seymour, Express

“Mr Shute is a storyteller in the tradition of R.L Stevenson and Kipling”

Evening News

“That shattering, unaffected literary style..masterly”

H.E. Bates


Related titles