> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 February 2011
  • ISBN: 9781409087038
  • Imprint: Vintage Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 336

No Highway




EXCITEMENT and SUSPENSE 18,000 Feet Over the Atlantic!

Read this classic uplifting, moving and heartwarming story about life in the face of the cold war.

Theodore Honey is a shy, inconspicuous aircraft engineer whose eccentric interests in quantum mechanics and spiritualism are frowned upon in aviation circles. But when a passenger plane crashes in unexplained circumstances, Honey must convince his superiors that his unorthodox theories are correct before more lives are lost.

  • Published: 1 February 2011
  • ISBN: 9781409087038
  • Imprint: Vintage Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 336

About the author

Nevil Shute

Nevil Shute was born on 17 January 1899 in Ealing, London. After attending the Dragon School and Shrewsbury School, he studied Engineering Science at Balliol College, Oxford. He worked as an aeronautical engineer and published his first novel, Marazan, in 1926. In 1931 he married Frances Mary Heaton and they went on to have two daughters. During the Second World War he joined the Royal Navy Volunteer Reserve where he worked on developing secret weapons. After the war he continued to write and settled in Australia where he lived until his death on 12 January 1960. His most celebrated novels include Pied Piper (1942), No Highway (1948), A Town Like Alice (1950) and On the Beach (1957).

Also by Nevil Shute

See all

Praise for No Highway

No Highway is a novel which engages the heart and grips the mind

Evening Standard

Mr Shute is a storyteller in the tradition of R.L Stevenson and Kipling

Evening News

Shute was a brilliant storyteller and terrific example for any writer

Express

That shattering, unaffected literary style..masterly

Related titles