> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 September 2012
  • ISBN: 9780552162517
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 512
  • RRP: $19.99

Mistress of My Fate

By the award-winning and Sunday Times bestselling author of THE FIVE




The pageturning debut historical novel by bestselling and award-winning author of THE FIVE: THE WOMEN KILLED BY JACK THE RIPPER:

By the bestselling winner of the 2019 Baillie Gifford Prize: THE FIVE: THE WOMEN KILLED BY JACK THE RIPPER

For fans of The Crown, Dowton Abbey and Poldark

Georgian England, 1789. Under a cloud of scandal, Henrietta Lightfoot flees her home at Melmouth Park. She has little money and no worthwhile talents, for what use is a neat stitch and a pretty voice outside the drawing room? Without family support, her only hope of survival lies with the dashing but elusive Lord Allenham...

In a quest to find him, Henrietta embarks on a journey through London’s debauched and glittering underworld, where she discovers more about her own mysterious past than she could have imagined. With the aid of new-found skills at the card table and on the stage, will Henrietta be able to turn her life around?

'A remarkable picture of a fascinating age' DAILY EXPRESS

  • Published: 15 September 2012
  • ISBN: 9780552162517
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 512
  • RRP: $19.99

About the author

Hallie Rubenhold

Hallie Rubenhold is the Number One Sunday Times bestselling and Baillie Gifford Non-Fiction prize-winning social historian whose expertise lies in revealing stories of previously unknown women and episodes in history. By drawing upon a wealth of formerly unseen archival material and adding a full historical context to the victims' lives, The Five changes the narrative of these murders for ever. Rubenhold's books include Lady Worsley's Whim, dramatized by the BBC as 'The Scandalous Lady W', and Covent Garden Ladies: The Extraordinary Story of Harris's List, which inspired the ITV series 'Harlots'. She has also written two acclaimed novels of female intrigue, revenge and betrayal: Mistress of My Fate and The French Lesson. She lives in London with her husband.

Also by Hallie Rubenhold

See all

Praise for Mistress of My Fate

Rollicking good read...A remarkable picture of a fascinating age which combined extraordinary bawdiness with silky sophistication (think Hogarth and Gainsborough)

Daily Express

A full-blooded historical romp - two parts Lizzie Bennett and Tom Jones's Sophia Western to one part Moll Flanders - with a splash of Fanny Hill

Independent

A vibrant coming of age story...ricochets with bawdy energy, witty observation and rollicking pace between brothels, theatres and the corridors of political power. Lots of fun

Easy Living

The first instalment in Hallie Rubenhold’s sparking 18th-century fictional memoir series, This enticing novel, written with charm and originality, is full of period detail and historical insight

The Good Book Guide

Related titles