> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 July 2010
  • ISBN: 9781407097329
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 464

Knights Of The Cross

the extraordinary story of the First Crusade - gripping from the first page




The extraordinary story of the crisis of the First Crusade, a powerful novel of intrigue, sacrifice, savagery and holy war, by the author of the Mosaic of Shadows.

Perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, Lindsey Davis, Steven Pressfield, this breathtaking and captivating novel brings the Crusades to life in all their triumphant and tragic glory.
'Gripping from the first page, the reader is swept up in this colourful and convincing portrayal of an Emperor and his realm under siege.' - Ink
'Superb read. Thoroughly enjoyed it' -- ***** Reader review
'Highly enjoyable read' -- ***** Reader review
'Brilliant.' -- ***** Reader review
'Holds your interest from [the first] to the last page' -- ***** Reader review

********************************************************************
AN ASSASSIN IS ON THE LOOSE...AND AN EMPIRE STANDS IN PERIL

Byzantium, 1096: When a mysterious assassin fires his arrow at the Emperor, he has more than a man in his sights; as the keystone of a crumbling empire, if he falls, then the mightiest power in Christendom will be torn apart. Aware of the stakes, the Emperor hires Demetrios Askiates, the unveiler of mysteries, to catch the would-be-killer.

But Demetrios is entering an unknown and mysterious world and must edge his way through a glittering maze of treachery and deceit before time runs out. Nor are all enemies within the city walls. With the Turks rampant across Asia, the Emperor has sent to the west for mercenaries to reinforce his position.

When a great army, tens of thousands strong, appears before the gates, he gets more than he bargained for. The first crusaders have arrived, intent on making their fortunes in war, and they have no allegiance to an empire they eye with jealousy and suspicion.

As the armies of east and west confront each other, and the assassin creeps ever closer to his prey, Demetrios must untangle the golden web of intrigue which surrounds the Emperor before the city - and the empire - are drowned in blood.

  • Published: 1 July 2010
  • ISBN: 9781407097329
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 464

About the author

Tom Harper

Tom Harper (real name Edwin Thomas) won the CWA debut award in 2001 for The Blighted Cliffs. He is also the author of The Mosaic of Shadows, Knights of the Cross, Siege of Heaven, Lost Temple, The Book of Secrets and The Lazarus Vault,all published by Random House. He lives in York.

Also by Tom Harper

See all

Praise for Knights Of The Cross

'Tom Harper writes with strident clarity in this epic tale of murder and betrayal, bloodshed and romance. Gripping from the first page, the reader is swept up in this colourful and convincing portrayal of an Emperor and his realm, under siege. Well-researched, and cinematic in its imagery, this is a fast-paced and exciting debut.' Ink

Ink'Tom Harper's speciality is a hitherto unvisited era in historical crime fiction- It's a world which Harper brings exuberantly to life, clearly revelling in its teeming, tumultuous extravagance.' Yorkshire Evening Post

'Harper effortlessly draws the reader into the court intrigues and conspiracies of 11th-century Byzantium in his outstanding debut' Publishers' Weekly

Excellent. Like Steven Saylor, the master of the ancient Roman historical Harper effortlessly draws the reader into an unfamiliar time, bringing alive the characters and their motivations

Publishers Weekly

'Gripping for its portrayal of the Crusader leaders ... this is a great example from a trustworthy historian'

Independent

Related titles