> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 31 December 2015
  • ISBN: 9781473508637
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 528

I'm Travelling Alone

(Munch and Krüger Book 1)




A complex and sophisticated crime thriller from an astonishing new talent

A SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

A RICHARD & JUDY BOOK CLUB PICK FOR SPRING 2017

When the body of a young girl is found hanging from a tree, the only clue the police have is an airline tag around her neck. It reads ‘I’m travelling alone’.

In response, police investigator Holger Munch is immediately charged with assembling a special homicide unit. But to complete the team, he must track down his former partner, Mia Krüger – a brilliant but troubled detective – who has retreated to a solitary island with plans to kill herself.

Reviewing the file, Mia finds something new – a thin line carved into the dead girl’s fingernail: the number 1. She knows that this is only the beginning. To save other children from the same fate, she must find a way to cast aside her own demons and stop this murderer from becoming a serial killer.


PRAISE FOR I'M TRAVELLING ALONE:

'Terrific . . . Intelligent and gripping . . . May well propel [Bjork] to deserved international fame.' The Times

'This is a simply terrific debut. The characters are completely believable, the plot is scalpel sharp and, as the hunt escalates, it will frighten the wits out of you in an utterly brilliant way.' Sunday Mirror

‘Tense, thrilling and genuinely scary.’ Heat

‘Perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo’s Harry Hole series and Danish crime drama The Bridge.’ Crime Scene Magazine

'Samuel Bjork’s formidable I’m Travelling Alone is despatched with real élan . . . Mia’s confrontation with both her own demons and a very human one is mesmerising fare.' Independent

‘The latest Norwegian crime-writing sensation.’ Sunday Times
Samuel Bjork’s latest novel The Boy in the Headlights is out now

  • Pub date: 31 December 2015
  • ISBN: 9781473508637
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 528

About the Author

Samuel Bjork

Samuel Bjork is the pen name of Norwegian novelist, playwright and singer/songwriter Frode Sander Øien. The Owl Always Hunts At Night is the second in his Munch and Krüger series, I’m Travelling Alone was the first. Both have been bestsellers across Scandinavia and the rest of Europe.

Also by Samuel Bjork

See all

Praise for I'm Travelling Alone

“Terrific . . . Intelligent and gripping . . . May well propel [Bjork] to deserved international fame”

The Times

“Samuel Bjork’s formidable I’m Travelling Alone is despatched with real élan . . . Mia’s confrontation with both her own demons and a very human one is mesmerising fare”

Independent

“A compelling novel, with plenty of intrigue and some splendid action sequences”

Guardian

“Perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo's Harry Hole series and Danish crime drama The Bridge ”

Crime Scene

“Tense, thrilling and genuinely scary *****”

Heat

“A tense and smartly constructed narrative”

Wall Street Journal

“The story is exciting, the setting cleverly evoked, the translation excellent . . . Welcome to a new voice.”

Literary Review

“Icy landscapes, mysterious clues, a messed up heroine . . . Nordic noir at its delicious best”

Sarah Hilary, author of Someone Else's Skin

“If this is a debut novel, then it is something of a literary sensation”

Bergens Tidende (Norway)

“One is tempted to call it a textbook on the modern crime novel. This is how it should be done”

Folkebladet (Denmark)

“I’m Travelling Alone is a stunning debut. Think the debut of Stieg Larsson and how that reverberated for the next decade. The time has come again for such a debut and it is a beauty. This is the beginning of a major series and is truly awesome.”

Ken Bruen

“Crime addicts should look out for I'm Travelling Alone”

GQ

“An absolutely brilliant Norwegian crime novel that has everything you want in a good story. Believable and interesting characters. A truly thrilling mystery and plot”

Aftonbladet (Sweden)

“Excellent reviews and thousands of hooked readers. Welcome to the dark world of Inspector H. Munch and to an unforgettable crime novel”

Cosmopolitan (Spain)

“A dangerously good thriller”

Wegener Dagbladen (Holland)

“This thriller gets under your skin and won't let you go. One thing is very clear at the end: we want to read more about Holger Munch and Mia Krüger!”

Booksection.de (Germany)

“A very sophisticated and terrifying thriller, which keeps the reader guessing and gasping to the very last page. The story is powerful, the style is fluent, and the cast of characters is simply irresistible”

Thrillermagazine.it (Italy)


Related titles