> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 July 2016
  • ISBN: 9780857501851
  • Imprint: Bantam
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 432
  • RRP: $19.99

Hereward: The Immortals

(Hereward 5)




The exiled Hereward and his band of mercenary warriors find themselves fighting for their Byzantine masters and their survival in this action-packed new chapter in James Wilde's bestselling series about one of English history's near-forgotten heroes.

The story of Hereward continues in this fast-paced page-turner full of treachery, camaraderie, sword- play and honour - the perfect read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. "Hereward is back and every year he gets better and better...a unique, immersive, truly historic experience." -- PARMENION BOOKS"Wilde has a keen eye for action matched with a talent for plotting that makes each new Hereward adventure a joy to read" -- THE ELOQUENT PAGE"With great gusto...James Wilde has succeeded in giving new and convincing life to a half-forgotten English hero." -- BBC HISTORY MAGAZINE"Another page-turner, edge-of-seat read with more cliffhanging action, drama and battles than Game of Thrones and The Bourgois put together!" -- ***** Reader review"Outstanding battle scenes, character development, and a feeling of you-are-there. Highly recommended." -- ***** Reader review*****************************************************IT IS ON THE FIELD OF BATTLE THAT HEROES ARE MADE...AND LEGENDS BORN1073: Under the merciless sun of the East, a dark force has risen - a Norman adventurer with intensely bloody ambition. He has conquered his land, he has built his fortress and he has amassed his army. And now he has taken Constantinople's ruler as his prisoner...

It falls to Hereward to rescue this precious captive. For this great English warrior-in-exile and his spear-brothers, it will mean mounting a raid that could prove the most dangerous of their lives.

Assisting them in their task will be an elite and legendary band of fighters, the Immortals - so-called because they believe they cannot die in battle.

But it will not be enough - for enemies hide within the jewelled heart of Byzantium who want to see the English dead at any cost. They will transform a mission that was at best dangerous into an adventure that is now suicidal. . .

Hereward: The Immortals is the fifth book in James Wilde's six book Hereward series. His story continues in Hereward: The Bloody Crown. Have you read Hereward, Hereward: The Devil's Army, Hereward: End of Days and Hereward: Wolves of New Rome- the first four books in the series?

  • Published: 15 July 2016
  • ISBN: 9780857501851
  • Imprint: Bantam
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 432
  • RRP: $19.99

About the author

James Wilde

James Wilde is a Man of Mercia. Raised in a world of books, the author studied economic history at university before travelling the world in search of adventure. He first encountered the great English warrior, Hereward, in the pages of a comic. It was while visiting the haunted fenlands of Eastern England, Hereward's ancestral home, that he became convinced that this legendary figure should be the subject of his first novel. The 'Hereward' series now runs to six novels, the most recent of which is Hereward - The Bloody Crown. James Wilde divides his time between London and the family home in Derbyshire.

Also by James Wilde

See all

Related titles