> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 July 2013
  • ISBN: 9780553825176
  • Imprint: Bantam
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 480
  • RRP: $19.99

Hereward: The Devil's Army (The Hereward Chronicles: book 2)

A high-octane historical adventure set in Norman England…




The story of Hereward, forgotten hero of English history, continues in James Wilde's second brutal and bloody novel - a must-read for action-packed historical fiction fans!

The story of Hereward continues in this action-packed, brutal and bloody novel - a must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden."An author who really does deliver the goods...I've relished every page so far and I am left hungry for more. If you're a fan of historical fiction... you need to be reading James Wilde." -- THE ELOQUENT PAGE"Unforgettable...James Wilde has succeeded in turning Hereward into a vital, living, breathing, death-dealing, honest, fallible, believable human being. A worthy adversary for William and the Normans." -- SPEESH"I couldn't put it down!" - ***** Reader review. "A real page-turner and I read the Devil's Army in two days..." -- ***** Reader review.******************************************************NOW THE REAL BATTLE FOR ENGLAND BEGINS...1067: The Battle of Hastings is lost and England is in the grips of William The Bastard, a cruel king set upon imposing his will on the unruly nation.

But there is one who stands in his way. Hereward: a warrior; a shrewd and ruthless fighter; England's last hope.His army of outcasts - a devil's army - grows by the day and emerges at night leaving death in its wake. The Normans will do whatever it takes to crush the rebels - but the rebels have no plans to surrender...

Hereward: The Devil's Army is the second book in James Wilde's six book Hereward series. His story continues in Hereward: End of Days. Have you read Hereward - the first book in the series?

  • Published: 15 July 2013
  • ISBN: 9780553825176
  • Imprint: Bantam
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 480
  • RRP: $19.99

About the author

James Wilde

James Wilde is a Man of Mercia. Raised in a world of books, the author studied economic history at university before travelling the world in search of adventure. He first encountered the great English warrior, Hereward, in the pages of a comic. It was while visiting the haunted fenlands of Eastern England, Hereward's ancestral home, that he became convinced that this legendary figure should be the subject of his first novel. The 'Hereward' series now runs to six novels, the most recent of which is Hereward - The Bloody Crown. James Wilde divides his time between London and the family home in Derbyshire.

Also by James Wilde

See all

Related titles