> Skip to content
  • Published: 2 February 2015
  • ISBN: 9780552162425
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 544
  • RRP: $19.99
Categories:

God of Vengeance

(The Rise of Sigurd 1)




The author of the bestselling Raven saga returns to the world of the Vikings with this acclaimed novel of honour and courage, blood feud and revenge - a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Game of Thrones!

A glorious, bloody, perfect Viking saga of honour, courage, blood feud and revenge from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Lancelot, Giles Kristian. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Games of Thrones.

"Unrelenting pace, brilliant action and characters. A masterwork." - Conn Iggulden"Action-packed storytelling which stirs the blood and thrills the soul" - Wilbur Smith"Easily one of the best books I've had the pleasure to read" - ***** Reader review.*******************************************************************************IT BEGAN WITH THE BETRAYAL OF A LORD BY A KING...Norway 785 AD. When King Gorm puts Jarl Harald's family to the sword, he makes one fatal mistake - he fails to kill Harald's youngest son, Sigurd.

His kin slain, his village seized, his taken as slaves, Sigurd wonders if the gods have forsaken him. Hunted by powerful men, he is unsure who to trust and yet he has a small band of loyal followers at his side. With them - and with the help of the All-Father, Odin - he determines to make a king pay for his treachery.

Using cunning and war-craft, Sigurd gathers together a fellowship of warriors - including his father's right-hand man Olaf, Bram (who men call Bear), Black Floki who wields death with a blade, and the shield maiden Valgerd, who fears no man - and convinces them to follow him.

For, whether Ódin is with him or not, Sigurd WILL have vengeance. And neither men nor gods had best stand in his way . . .Sigurd's story continues in Winter's Fire.

  • Published: 2 February 2015
  • ISBN: 9780552162425
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 544
  • RRP: $19.99
Categories:

About the author

Giles Kristian

Family history (he is half Norwegian) and a passion for the fiction of Bernard Cornwell inspired GILES KRISTIAN to write. Set in the Viking world, his bestselling ‘Raven’ and ‘The Rise of Sigurd’ trilogies have been acclaimed by his peers, reviewers and readers alike. In The Bleeding Land and Brothers’ Fury, he tells the story of a family torn apart by the English Civil War. He also co-wrote Wilbur Smith’s No.1 bestseller, Golden Lion. In his most recent novel, the Sunday Times bestsellerLancelot, Giles plunged into the rich waters of the Arthurian legend. For his next book, he continues his epic reimagining of our greatest island 'history'.Giles Kristian lives in Leicestershire.

Also by Giles Kristian

See all

Praise for God of Vengeance

Action-packed storytelling which stirs the blood and thrills the soul

WILBUR SMITH

What elevates Kristian above the many pretenders to Cornwell's crown is the style and swagger of the prose. He is a modern skald, borrowing the old rhythms to create a brutal, absorbing tale

Antonia Senior, THE TIMES 'Books of the Year'

Unrelenting pace, brilliant action and characters. A masterwork.

CONN IGGULDEN

A glorious, bloody, perfect Viking saga, rich with the poetry of the skald, ripe with blood and glory, vengeance and heartbreak. The characters stride from the page, alive, hungry, real . . . this is Viking writing at its very best

MANDA SCOTT

This is the best kind of storytelling – a saga full of blood and thunder that grabs you and doesn’t let go until long after the final page is turned

STEVEN PRESSFIELD

A pulse-pounding tale of blood, betrayal and honour. Hereward and his spear-brothers would definitely feel at home here

JAMES WILDE

A great success . . . His knowledge of the period, and imaginative immersion in it, mean that God of Vengeance conjures up Sigurd's bloody, violent world, with all its alien beliefs and strange customs, in vivid and compelling detail

Nick Rennison, BBC HISTORY

Epic in character, atmosphere and deed . . . Kristian is a terrific storyteller . . . the writing and language are wonderfully rich, and you want to savour every bone-shattering, blood-curdling, sentence

TOBY CLEMENTS

A revenger's tale writ large . . . Kristian's latest Viking-era saga won't disappoint

DAILY MAIL

A pulsating saga delivered with the sweep and power of a Norse war axe

TIM SEVERIN

I loved this. It’s for people who like their historical fiction high-octane . . .a superb, brutal story that pulls no punches

ROBERT FABBRI

Glorious . . . one of the finest historical novels of the year

FOR WINTER NIGHTS

Brilliant prose, vivid descriptions and compelling characters . . . a must read. If you are a fan of the series, The Vikings, then this book is for you

HISTORICAL NOVEL REVIEW

Related titles