> Skip to content
  • Published: 31 October 2011
  • ISBN: 9781446488508
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 432
Categories:

Down Lambeth Way




A wonderful saga of a Cockney family in peace and war.

The beginning of a wonderful saga telling the story of a Cockney family in peace and war from multi-million copy seller Mary Jane Staples. Perfect for fans of Kitty Neale, Maggie Ford and Katie Flynn.PRAISE FOR THE ADAMS FAMILY SERIES! "Mary Jane Staples makes you care about her characters, which explains why her books have enjoyed so much popularity" -- Take a Break"Forget Eastenders, this it the London of old, when people knew each other's names and communities really pulled together." -- Woman's Realm"Mary Jane Staples completely capture the feel of the period and the essence of the people...has warmth, humour and charm. An ideal book for you holiday reading." Finesse "I get so engrossed in the stories I feel like one of the family." - ***** Reader review. "The story of the Adams family is just wonderful, I can't put this book down. You feel part of the family as you read all about them." -- ***** Reader review.*********************************ON THE EVE OF WAR, CAN SHE AND HER FAMILY PULL THROUGH?The Adams family were poor, cheerful and, above all, respectable.There was Mrs Adams, a widow having lost her husband in the Boer War; Boots, the bright one; Tommy, the quiet one; Sammy, a wheeler dealer in the making; and Lizzy. Lizzy was a real pearl - one of the prettiest girls in Walworth.When Lizzy falls in love it is 1914. War is coming and everyone is going to be affected. Will the Adams family - gutsy, tough and cheeky - pull through?Down Lambeth Way is the first in Mary Jane Staples's Adams Family series. Their story continues in Our Emily.

  • Published: 31 October 2011
  • ISBN: 9781446488508
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 432
Categories:

About the author

Mary Jane Staples

Mary Jane Staples was born, bred and educated in Walworth, and is the author of many bestselling novels including the ever-popular cockney sagas featuring the Adams family.

Also by Mary Jane Staples

See all

Related titles