> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 May 2010
  • ISBN: 9781407033853
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 496

Caligula

A thrilling historical epic set in Ancient Rome that you won't be able to put down.




A major new historical epic - in the tradition of Conn Iggulden.

Perfect for fans of Robert Harris, Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow, a riveting thriller set in Ancient Rome from bestselling author Douglas Jackson."...gripping Roman thriller. It's certainly well placed to take on the Simon Scarrow/Conn Iggulden audience." -- Scotland on Sunday"Fantastic read..." - ***** Reader review. ******************************************************************CAN A SLAVE DECIDE THE FATE OF AN EMPEROR?Ancient Rome. Caligula is Emperor, his reign marked by excess, ambition, decadence, cruelty, madness, sexual scandal and death.

Rufus is a young slave living a world away from the Imperial court - apprentice to an animal trainer for the gladiatorial arena and friend to Cupido, one of Rome's greatest gladiators.

When Rufus's skills come to the attention of Caligula, he is summoned to court to serve as keeper for the Imperial elephant - and unwittingly finds himself at the centre of a conspiracy to assassinate the Emperor...Rufus's story continues in Claudius.

  • Published: 1 May 2010
  • ISBN: 9781407033853
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 496

About the author

Douglas Jackson

A journalist by profession, Douglas Jackson transformed a lifelong fascination for Rome and the Romans in to his first two highly-praised novels, Caligula and Claudius. His third, Hero of Rome, introduced readers to a new series hero, Gaius Valerius Verrens. Seven further novels featuring Valerius have followed - the most recent being Glory of Rome - and have won critical acclaim and confirm their author as one of the UK's foremost historical novelists. An active member of the Historical Writers Association and the Historical Novel Society, Douglas Jackson lives near Stirling in Scotland.

Also by Douglas Jackson

See all

Praise for Caligula

Jackson brings a visceral realism to Rome in the days of the mad Caligula

Daily Mail

A young animal trainer for the gladiatorial games is plunged into the paranoid world of Emperor Caligula's court in this gripping Roman thriller.

Scotland on Sunday

Light and dark in equal measure, colourful, thoughtful and bracing

Manda Scott

Related titles