> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 July 2018
  • ISBN: 9780552172295
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 528
  • RRP: $19.99

Glory of Rome

(Gaius Valerius Verrens 8): Roman Britain is brought to life in this action-packed historical adventure




Gaius Valerius Verrens, once the friend of emperors and sometime Hero of Rome, returns to the furthest reaches of the Empire - to Britannia - to lead the Ninth Legion in its bid to quell a savage uprising by the Celtic tribes and their defiant and scheming Druids...

A riveting and all-action historical page-turner from bestselling author Douglas Jackson that will have you gripped from page one! Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane.Readers are loving Gaius Valerius Verrens! "The best Roman historical series I've yet read. Just pips Ben Kane and Conn Iggulden." - 5 STARS "I found this one hard to put down as there was action and intrigue from start to finish" - 5 STARS"Fantastic story and character creation" - 5 STARS"A simple plot but pace never lets up and keeps you wanting to "just read the next chapter before I put it down" - 5 STARS*************************************77AD. Gaius Valerius Verrens is an honoured member of Emperor Vespasian's inner circle, but the enmity between him and Vespasian's son Domitian means that, even in Rome, danger is never far away.

Meanwhile, in the outer reaches of the Empire, in Britannia, trouble is brewing.The governor, Agricola is preparing to march his legions north and Valerius is Agricola's chief legal adviser and deputy governor. It's the opportunity he seeks to move his wife and son out of reach of Domitian's wrath.

The massacre of a Roman garrison and suspicious death throw Agricola's preparations into confusion. Now his eyes turn west to Mona and the Druids, who still harbour hopes of ridding Britannia of Roman rule. But to deal with them, Agricola needs a soldier he can trust to lead the legion. Only one man in the province has the experience and the ability . . .

So a reluctant Valerius picks up his sword once more. He soon comes to understand that any glory his new legion wins is likely to be fleeting and tainted - and that he has placed his family in deadly peril.Gaius Valerius Verrens's adventures conclude in Hammer of Rome.

  • Published: 15 July 2018
  • ISBN: 9780552172295
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 528
  • RRP: $19.99

About the author

Douglas Jackson

A journalist by profession, Douglas Jackson transformed a lifelong fascination for Rome and the Romans in to his first two highly-praised novels, Caligula and Claudius. His third, Hero of Rome, introduced readers to a new series hero, Gaius Valerius Verrens. Seven further novels featuring Valerius have followed - the most recent being Glory of Rome - and have won critical acclaim and confirm their author as one of the UK's foremost historical novelists. An active member of the Historical Writers Association and the Historical Novel Society, Douglas Jackson lives near Stirling in Scotland.

Also by Douglas Jackson

See all

Praise for Glory of Rome

Superbly written and packed with historical detail and action.

Kate Atherton, SUNDAY EXPRESS

What a fantastic writer Douglas Jackson is . . . Glory of Rome is a thrilling novel from the outset and culminates in a brilliant battle sequence that had me on the edge of my seat.

FOR WINTER NIGHTS

The plot is taut and gallops along at a pace. The characters are all well-drawn and convincing, while the action sequences are exciting, bloody, and dramatic, without being overly graphic. The novel can be read as a standalone without any loss of enjoyment. A gripping tale from start to finish, and you will find it difficult to put down. Recommended.

HISTORICAL NOVELS REVIEW

Related titles