> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 July 2010
  • ISBN: 9781407093727
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 720

Boudica: Dreaming The Eagle

(Boudica 1): An utterly convincing and compelling epic that will sweep you away to another place and time




Set in Iron-Age Britain, the first novel in a magnificent new series recounting the life of Boudica, Britain's first warrior queen.

From THE SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author Manda Scott, this the first instalment of a brilliantly imagined epic series that will leave you desperate for more. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

"Every so often, a book comes along that totally remoulds a historical figure for our own times ... massively impressive." -- Scotland on Sunday

"Manda Scott has created a fictional universe all her own, but close enough to our reality for it both to warm and break our hearts. Breathtakingly good, it reveals the best and worst in all of us." -- Val McDermid

"This book captured my imagination from the first page. I was swept away by the world that Manda creates with her writing. I couldn't put it down and was on to the next book as quick as I could get my hands on it." - ***** Reader review

"Absolutely riveted to the book for the time it's taken to read it. Been very difficult to stop and put the book down to sleep." -- ***** Reader review

**********************************
Britain has produced many fierce, noble warriors down the ages who have fought to keep Britain free, but there was one formidable lady in history whose name will never be forgotten...

AD 60: Boudica, war leader of the Eceni, leads her people in a final bloody revolt against the occupying armies of Rome - an occupying force that seeks to crush a vibrant, complex civilization and replace it with the laws, taxes and slavery of the Roman Empire.

But how did Boudica come to be Britain's first and greatest warrior queen? How does Breaca - who kills her first warrior at the age of twelve - go on to lead an uprising and become one of the great female icons?

Boudica: Dreaming The Eagle takes us right back to her humble origins and recreates the beginnings of a coming of age story so powerful its impact has survived through the ages.

This is the unforgettable world of tribal Britain in the years before the Romans came: a twilight world of Dreamers and the magic of the gods; a world where warriors fight for honour as much as victory. It is a world of passion and courage and spectacular, heart-felt heroism pitched against overwhelming odds...

Boudica's story continues in Boudica: Dreaming the Bull.

  • Published: 1 July 2010
  • ISBN: 9781407093727
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 720

About the author

Manda Scott

Over the past two decades Manda Scott has brought iconic historical figures back to life, reimagined and re-booted for the twenty-first century. Her crime novels have been shortlisted for many awards including Hen's Teeth for the Orange Prize and No Good Deed for an Edgar Award. Her work has been translated into over twenty languages.

Manda’s bestselling Boudica series was recently optioned for television.

Also by Manda Scott

See all

Praise for Boudica: Dreaming The Eagle

'The best in the current crop of novels about Rome, its empire and its victims ... never sentimental and always tough-minded'

Roz Kaveney, Independent

'Every so often, a book comes along that totally remoulds a historical figure for our own times ... massively impressive'

Jane Jakeman, Scotland on Sunday

'A powerful novel, alive with the love, deceit, wisdom and the heroics of humanity'

Jean M. Auel

'Utterly convincing and compelling ... A stunning feat of the imagination and an absolute must-read'

Steven Pressfield

'An extraordinary work ... exciting and intriguing, taking you into a world where unbelievable danger and cruelty sit side by side with magic, spirituality and profound human relationships'

Jenni Murray

'Manda Scott has created a fictional universe all her own, but close enough to our reality for it both to warm and break our hearts. Breathtakingly good, it reveals the best and worst in all of us'

Val McDermid

Related titles