> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 January 2017
  • ISBN: 9780425268605
  • Imprint: Berkley
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $27.99

Always Faithful, Always Forward

The Forging of a Special Operations Marine

Established in 1986, the U.S. Special Operations Command was set up to bring the special operational disciplines of all branches of the military under a single, unified command to act on missions involving unconventional warfare, special reconnaissance, foreign internal defense, and direct action... The Marine Special Operations Command ("MARSOC") is the newest component of the military's shift toward a fully integrated Special Operations Command structure. At first, the Marines were strongly against any Marines serving under anyone other than another Marine. Then 9/11 happened. In the years following, Marine forces found themselves growing more agreeable to inter-branch operational command, finally forming the Marine Special Operations Command in 2006.

Always Faithful, Always Forward follows the journey of a class of Marine candidates from their recruitment, through assessment and selection, to their qualification as Marines Special Operators. Retired Navy Captain Dick Couch has been given unprecedented access to this new command and to the individual Marines of this exceptional special-operations unit, allowing him to chronicle the history and development of the Marine Special Operations Command and how they find, recruit, and train their special operators.

  • Published: 15 January 2017
  • ISBN: 9780425268605
  • Imprint: Berkley
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 368
  • RRP: $27.99

About the author

Dick Couch

Dick Couch is a graduate of the U.S. Naval Acade-
my and served with the Navy UDT and SEAL
Teams. While a platoon commander with SEAL
Team One in 1970, he led one of the only successful
POW rescue operations of the Vietnam War. On
release from active duty in 1972, he joined the Cen-
tral Intelligence Agency where he served as a Mari-
time Operations officer. Dick retired from the
Naval Reserve in 1997 as the senior reserve SEAL
officer with the rank of captain. He began his writ-
ing career in 1990 and has published four novels:
SEAL Team One, Pressure Point, Silent Descent, and
Rising Wind. The Warrior Elite was his first non-fic-
tion work, published in November of 2001 by
Crown Books. US Armed Forces Nuclear, Chemical,
Biological Survival Manual (Basic Books), edited by
Dick, will be publishing in Feb. 2003. In the sum-
mer of 2003, Dick and Cliff Hollenbeck, award win-
ning photo journalist, will publish To Be a Navy
SEAL (Motor Books International), a table-top, full-
color pictorial book that will feature Basic
UDT/SEAL Training with a 20,000 word essay by
Dick. Scheduled for release in the fall of 2003 is The
Mercenary Option, a novel to be published by Pock-
et Books.

Also by Dick Couch

See all

Praise for Always Faithful, Always Forward

“An excellent...resource for those looking for insight into modern special operations warfare and training.”—Publishers Weekly “A gripping insider’s account of Marine Special Operations Command.”—Nathaniel Fick, author of One Bullet Away “I can’t imagine anyone doing a better job of telling the Marine Special Operations story.”—Larry Bond, author of Exit Plan “By the end of the book, you’ll be grateful that these proud fighting Marines are on our side—and you’ll be thankful to Dick Couch, who takes you inside their world.”—Eric Greitens, Navy SEAL, New York Times bestselling author of The Heart and the Fist

Related titles