> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 25 January 2012
  • ISBN: 9781742534510
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 256

After the Darkness

Thrilling, stylish and strikingly atmospheric, After the Darkness is an extraordinary psychological suspense from the award winning author of Red Queen and The Good Daughter, Honey Brown.

Thrilling, stylish and strikingly atmospheric, After the Darkness is an extraordinary psychological suspense that examines the very moral codes by which we live. In the fluid boundary between good and evil, where do we draw the line?
It's only by chance that Trudy and Bruce Harrison notice the isolated ocean view gallery on their way home from holiday . . .

It's not listed on any tourist pamphlet.  There are no other visitors.  Within the maze of rooms the couple begins to feel uneasy.  They are right to.  The next few hours will rip them from their safe, comfortable existence forever.

Bruce and Trudy escape from the gallery, bruised and brutalised.  But a man is dead.  Was someone else there that day?  Did the attack even happen the way they remember it?  Their doubts grow until they can no longer trust anyone, not even each other.  There is no return from the dark places their fear will push them.

'There's a sense of foreboding craftily interwoven with the darkness of sexual desire running from the first to the last sentence in this achingly powerful suspense thriller.' Australian Women's Weekly
'An excellent read.' Sun-Herald
Praise for Honey Brown's other books

'A thrilling read – one that captures the brutal essence of Australian small-town life, in which characters shift along a sliding moral scale.' Bookseller + Publisher

'A taut psychological thriller . . . the most filmic of stories.' Sun-Herald

'These characters are superbly drawn and Brown's manipulation of her stylish, erotic, unusual cinematic story firmly places this novel into the welcome league of the must-reads.' Courier-Mail

  • Pub date: 25 January 2012
  • ISBN: 9781742534510
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 256

About the Author

Honey Brown

Honey Brown lives in country Victoria with her husband and two children. She is the author of four books: Red Queen, The Good Daughter, After the Darkness and Dark Horse. Red Queen was published to critical acclaim in 2009 and won an Aurealis Award, and The Good Daughter was longlisted for the Miles Franklin Literary Award and shortlisted for the Barbara Jefferis Award in 2011. After the Darkness was selected for the Women's Weekly Great Read and for Get Reading 2012's 50 Books You Can't Put Down campaign. Her fifth novel, Through the Cracks, will be published in 2014.

Also by Honey Brown

See all

Awards & Recognition

  • Davitt Awards

    Longlisted • 2013 • Best Adult Crime novel

Related titles