> Skip to content
  • Published: 30 November 2011
  • ISBN: 9781448107780
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 400
Categories:

A Better World Than This

an unmissable and uplifting Lancashire coming of age saga of love and life



Fans of Katie Flynn, Rosie Clarke and Catherine Cookson will love being transported to another time and place by bestselling and prizewinning author Marie Joseph in this enthralling and heart-warming saga about one woman's desire for a glamourous and romantic life. Will she achieve her dreams?
'Marie Joseph has the same rare, magical gift as Catherine Cookson for turning everyday people with everyday lives into the stuff of fascination' -- Kent Evening Post
'She is a winner every time she writes' -- Manchester Evening News
'The perfect cosy read... I have multiple copies of this book and read it every year' -- ***** Reader review
'Loved this story, pure escapism' -- ***** Reader review
************************************************************
ONE CHANCE ENCOUNTER WILL CHANGE HER LIFE FOREVER...

In a small Lancashire cotton town in the 1930s, Daisy Bell dreams her life away. At twenty-six, still a spinster and heiress to her mother's potato pie shop, she's resigned to a lonely old age. But toiling over the bake-house fire she dreams of a better world - a world of glamour and romance as seen on the silver screen.

Then she meets Sam a dashing Clark Gable look-alike and chauffeur to a wealthy London businessman - and suddenly her life is changed forever...

Will Sam be the answer to her prayers?

  • Published: 30 November 2011
  • ISBN: 9781448107780
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 400
Categories:

About the author

Marie Joseph

Marie Joseph was born in Lancashire and was educated at Blackburn High School for Girls. Before her marriage she was in the Civil Service. She now lives in Middlesex with her husband, a retired chartered engineer, and they have two married daughters and eight grandchildren.

Marie Joseph began her writing career as a short-story writer and she now uses her Northern background to enrich her bestselling novels. Down-to-earth characters bring a vivid authenticity to her stories, which were written with both humour and poignancy.

Her novel: A Better World Than This won the 1987 Romantic Novelist's Association Major Award.

Also by Marie Joseph

See all

Related titles