> Skip to content
  • Published: 29 February 2012
  • ISBN: 9781448107896
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 288

The Clogger's Child

a wonderfully enchanting and moving Lancashire saga of innocence, suffering and the will to succeed. Guaranteed to stay with you forever.



Letbestselling and prizewinning author Marie Joseph sweep you away with this captivating and enthralling saga about poverty, passion and an unquenchable desire for a better life. Fans of Katie Flynn, Rosie Clarke and Catherine Cookson will not be disappointed.
'Marie Joseph is an amazing success story' - WOMAN'S WEEKLY
'Another Marie Joseph page-turner' -- ***** Reader review
'Never ceases to pull at your heartstrings' -- ***** Reader review
'Marie Joseph's descriptions and turn of phrase are a joy to read...' -- ***** Reader review
'Compelling and very readable - recommended for an afternoon relaxing read.' -- ***** Reader

*********************************************
WILL SHE GET THE LIFE AND LOVE SHE'S ALWAYS DREAMED OF?

Lancashire in the 1900s. Clara Haydock has the voice of an angel - but she lives in a time and place of poverty and hardship, where singing is for church and life for getting on with. As she sings hymns on a Sunday morning, she dreams of one day singing on stage, in front of a rapt audience, lost in the music she loves.

Her unbreakable spirit, her passion for music and her will to live a better life make her shine against the bleakness of her life.

Not one to give up on a dream, she knows where her destiny lies ... and she'll do anything to fulfil it...

  • Published: 29 February 2012
  • ISBN: 9781448107896
  • Imprint: Cornerstone Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 288

About the author

Marie Joseph

Marie Joseph was born in Lancashire and was educated at Blackburn High School for Girls. Before her marriage she was in the Civil Service. She now lives in Middlesex with her husband, a retired chartered engineer, and they have two married daughters and eight grandchildren.

Marie Joseph began her writing career as a short-story writer and she now uses her Northern background to enrich her bestselling novels. Down-to-earth characters bring a vivid authenticity to her stories, which were written with both humour and poignancy.

Her novel: A Better World Than This won the 1987 Romantic Novelist's Association Major Award.

Also by Marie Joseph

See all

Related titles