> Skip to content

Book clubs  •  7 October 2021

 

Great Circle book club notes

Take your book club on an enthralling journey over oceans and continents.

This New York Times bestseller and Booker Prize shortlisted book is sure to be a hit at your next reading group meeting. It's been described as 'smart, ambitious and so beautifully written' by Curtis Sittenfeld and 'epic in spirit and scope' by the Telegraph, who gave it five stars. Great Circle is a monumentally powerful epic that weaves together the astonishing lives of a daredevil female aviator, and the Hollywood rebel who will play her on screen.

Discussion points and questions:

  • Why do you think Marian wants to fly around the world? Have you ever wanted to take a major risk without quite knowing why?
  • What do you think Hadley wants from playing the role of Marian? Do you think her expectations are met?
  • How is Marian’s life shaped by her experiences of love? Do you think she really wants to love someone? What about Hadley?
  • What do you think is Marian’s idea of freedom? What is yours?
  • How does Marian’s relationship with her brother, Jamie, evolve over time? How would you react if you had a sibling like Marian?
  • Do you think Peregrine is going to be a good movie?
  • How do you think Marian was shaped by her unusual childhood? Do you think she was bruised or strengthened by the fact she never knew her parents?
  • Hadley says that no story can ever be whole. What do you think she means?
  • Which friend or relative would you pass this book on to and why?

Great Circle Maggie Shipstead

This monumentally powerful epic weaves together the astonishing lives of a daredevil female aviator, and the Hollywood rebel who will play her on screen. Perfect for fans of THE GOLDFINCH by Donna Tartt, and ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE.

Buy now
Buy now

More features

See all
Article
The 2021 Booker Prize shortlist revealed

The shortlist for the 2021 Booker Prize has been announced, with four Penguin Random House novels named.

Q&A
Maggie Shipstead Q&A

The Great Circle author on inspiring travel, research and spending seven years on her latest novel.

Book clubs
You and Me on Vacation book club notes

Two friends. Ten summer trips. Their last chance to fall in love.

Book clubs
Daisy Jones and The Six book club notes

A fun rock 'n' roll story that's perfect for book club.

Book clubs
If I Had Your Face book club notes

A glitteringly dark and unsettling debut that's perfect for book club.

Book clubs
Showtime! book club notes

Let Judy Nunn take you on a scintillating journey through the golden age of Australian show business.

Book clubs
The Paper Palace book club notes

A magnificent literary pick for book club.

Book clubs
A Slow Fire Burning book club notes

An exciting new thriller from the author of The Girl on the Train to discuss with your book club.

Book clubs
How to start a book club

Get your very own book club off the ground with these tips from The Wattle Island Book Club author.

Book clubs
The Farmer’s Friend book club notes

An uplifting Australian drama from rural midwife and bestselling author Fiona McArthur.

Book clubs
Wattle Island Book Club book club notes

A story filled with courage, passion and hope to share with your reading group.

Book clubs
Cutters End book club notes

A desert highway. A remote town. A murder that won’t stay hidden.

Looking for more book club notes?

See all book club notes