> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 28 September 2009
  • ISBN: 9781742285344
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 222


A gripping, beautifully observed tale of what a teenage girl will do to keep her friends, by one of Australia's finest writers, Sonya Hartnett.

On the verge of her fourteenth birthday, Plum knows her life will change. But she has no idea how.
Over the coming weeks, her beautiful neighbour Maureen will show her how she might fly. Her adored older brothers will court catastrophe in worlds that she barely knows exist. And her friends – her worst enemies – will tease and test, smelling weakness. They will try to lead her on and take her down.
Who ever forgets what happens when you're fourteen?
'Lucid and beautiful, compassionate yet unflinching, enigmatic yet touching, sometimes tragic sometimes funny . . . a writer at the height of her powers.'  Weekend Australian
'Rich, visceral . . . Hartnett's tiny domestic insights unleash a tornado of human experience.'  Herald Sun
'Hartnett's prose is breathtakingly good . . . Will make adult female readers shiver with gladness at being all grown up.'  Big Issue
'Full of insight and wit.'  The Guardian

  • Pub date: 28 September 2009
  • ISBN: 9781742285344
  • Imprint: Penguin eBooks
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 222

About the Author

Sonya Hartnett

Sonya Hartnett's work has won numerous Australian and international literary prizes and has been published around the world. Uniquely, she is acclaimed for her stories for adults, young adults and children. Her accolades include the Commonwealth Writers' Prize (Of A Boy), The Age Book of the Year (Of A Boy), the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize (Thursday's Child), the Children's Book Council of Australia Book of the Year for both Older and Younger Readers (Forest, The Silver Donkey, The Ghost's Child, The Midnight Zoo and The Children of the King), the Victorian Premier's Literary Award (Surrender), shortlistings for the Miles Franklin Award (for both Of a Boy and Butterfly) and the CILP Carnegie Medal (The Midnight Zoo). Hartnett is also the first Australian recipient of the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (2008).

Golden Boys, Sonya’s third novel for adults, was shortlisted for the 2015 Miles Franklin Literary Award and she also published her third picture book, The Wild One in 2014.

Also by Sonya Hartnett

See all

Awards & Recognition

  • Prime Minister's Literary Award

    Highly commended • 2010 • Fiction

Related titles