> Skip to content

Louisa May Alcott was born on 29 November 1832 in Pennsylvania. Her father was friends with Ralph Waldo Emerson and Henry Thoreau. Alcott started selling stories in order to help provide financial support for her family. Her first book was Flower Fables (1854). She worked as a nurse during the American Civil War and in 1863 she published Hospital Sketches, which was based on her experiences. Little Women was published in 1868 and was based on her life growing up with her three sisters. She followed it with three sequels, Good Wives (1869), Little Men (1871) and Jo's Boys (1886) and she also wrote other books for both children and adults. Louisa May Alcott was an abolitionist and a campaigner for women's rights. She died on 6 March 1888.

Books by Louisa May Alcott

Little Women
Little Women: Puffin Cloth Classic
Little Women: V&A Collector's Edition
Alcott: Work, Eight Cousins, Rose in Bloom, Stories & Other W
Mod Lib Little Women
Jo's Boys
The Inheritance
The Chase
Little Men
Good Wives
Little Women and Good Wives
Stepping Stones
Little Women
Little Women