> Skip to content
Anthony Burrill
Photo Credit: (c) Cat Garcia

Anthony Burrill

Book for an event


Graphic artist, print-maker and designer Anthony Burrill is known for his persuasive, up-beat style of communication. Words and language are an important part of Burrill’s output and he has developed a distinctive voice that is sought after not only by collectors of his posters and prints but also by clients including Google, Hermés, the British Council, London Underground and the Design Museum. Burrill is perhaps best known for his typographic, text-based compositions, including the now-famous ‘Work Hard & Be Nice to People’, which has become a mantra for the design community and beyond.

Burrill was born in Littleborough, Lancashire. After studying Graphic Design at Leeds Polytechnic he completed an MA in Graphic Design at the Royal College of Art, London. He now lives and works on the Isle of Oxney, Kent.

Books by Anthony Burrill

Work Hard & Be Nice to People

Inspirational aphorisms and sound advice for the real world from graphic artist Anthony Burrill, for fans of It’s Not How Good You Are, It’s How Good You Want to Be (181k TCM), Steal Like an Artist (32k TCM) and Make Your Bed (25k TCM).

Read more
Make It Now!

A life-affirming guide to fresh-thinking, creative problem-solving and the art of getting things done by the internationally renowned graphic artist, Anthony Burrill.

Read more