> Skip to content
  • Published: 13 August 2020
  • ISBN: 9780753558225
  • Imprint: Virgin Books
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 160
  • RRP: $22.99

Work Hard & Be Nice to People



Inspirational aphorisms and sound advice for the real world from graphic artist Anthony Burrill, for fans of It's Not How Good You Are, It's How Good You Want to Be (181k TCM), Steal Like an Artist (32k TCM) and Make Your Bed (25k TCM).

Ask More Questions, Get More AnswersDon't Be Normal, Don't Be OrdinarySay Yes More Than No!Work Hard & Be Nice to People

It's usually the simple truths that provide the most profound answers.

Discover inspirational aphorisms and sound advice for the real world from graphic artist Anthony Burrill, inspired by his best-loved and most iconic typographic prints.

With wise words on getting things done, success, creativity, difficult decisions, motivation, work, collaboration and happiness, this refreshing, life-affirming guide is the perfect gift or 'manual for all those needing a little inspired encouragement.' Wallpaper

Work Hard & Be Nice to People is are-worked and re-packaged paperback edition of Make it Now! with some new material.

  • Published: 13 August 2020
  • ISBN: 9780753558225
  • Imprint: Virgin Books
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 160
  • RRP: $22.99

About the author

Anthony Burrill

Anthony Burrill is an internationally renowned graphic artist, print-maker and designer. His persuasive, up-beat style of communication makes him sought after by big brands, advertising agencies and design schools the world over. He is best known for his typographic, text-based compositions, including the now-famous ‘Work Hard & Be Nice to People’, which has become a mantra for the design community and beyond. He now lives and works on the Isle of Oxney, Kent.

Also by Anthony Burrill

See all

Praise for Work Hard & Be Nice to People

This book is definitely not just for the aspiring graphic designer; it’s a manual for all those needing a little inspired encouragement.

Wallpaper

A reminder worth heeding about the sources of creativity and role of the designer to question, improve and probe ... validates, vindicates and inspires the little-represented idea of success – and being nice while you do it.

Monocle Magazine

A beautifully designed object featuring examples of significant pieces of work from Burrill’s career as well as ephemera from his life and new, text-based works alongside his writing.

Creative Review

An intimate and uplifting reflection of what it is to be a designer ... book-cum-manual for creative thinking and doing.

Grafik

Related titles