> Skip to content



New from Monica McInerney

Monica McInerney’s new novel, The Trip of a Lifetime, to be published July 2017.

We’re pleased to announce that we will be publishing Monica McInerney’s highly anticipated new Australian novel, The Trip of a Lifetime, in July 2017. It is a rich and highly entertaining story about family, love, lies and memories, and the true meaning of home.

Publisher Ali Watts says: ‘It's been a few years between books for Monica, but this one is well worth the wait. The Trip of a Lifetime is a big, bold, beautiful novel, an ambitious and extremely accomplished work from a powerhouse author. Like all Monica’s novels, it will provoke joy and laughter as well as heartfelt tears. Reading this book will draw you in to feel part of a truly unique and special family and leave you pondering meaningful questions about your own.’

Monica McInerney writes: ‘The Trip of a Lifetime was a joy to write. It's filled with the subjects and themes I love to explore in my novels – the ties and tensions of family life, the impact of secrets past and present, the love and humour found in everyday life, as well as the sadder, darker times we all experience. It was a great pleasure to set it in my own two homelands – the Clare Valley of South Australia, and my adopted home of Ireland. I'm thrilled to be back working with old publishing friends alongside the new team at Penguin Random House Australia, and look forward to meeting as many Australian readers, booksellers and librarians as I can at publication time in July.’

Beloved Australian author Monica McInerney wrote the internationally bestselling novels A Taste For It, Upside Down Inside Out, Spin the Bottle, The Alphabet Sisters, Family Baggage, Those Faraday Girls, At Home with the Templetons, Lola’s Secret, The House of Memories and Hello from the Gillespies, as well as the short story collection All Together Now. In 2006, Monica was the ambassador for the Australian Government initiative Books Alive, with her novella Odd One Out. Those Faraday Girls won the General Fiction Book of the Year prize at the 2008 Australian Book Industry Awards.

Other News

Puffin to give $100,000 to bookshops to get kids reading

On the initiative, Julie Burland, CEO Penguin Random House Australia, said, “As Australia’s largest publisher, we feel a responsibility to help younger generations become readers.” 

Blind Date with a Book

This Valentine’s Day Blind Date with a Book is back… but this time it’s bigger than ever before.

Looking for more news?

See All News