> Skip to content

News  •  12 February 2018


New Australian Children’s Laureate

Morris Gleitzman announced as the Australian Children’s Laureate for 2018-2019.

We are thrilled to share the news that The Australian Children’s Literature Alliance has appointed award-winning author Morris Gleitzman as the prestigious Australian Children’s Laureate for 2018-2019.

Founded in 2008, the Laureateship is bestowed every two years on an outstanding writer or illustrator of children's books. Its role is to promote the importance and transformational power of reading, creativity and story in the lives of young Australians. Morris Gleitzman will succeed Leigh Hobbs (2016-2017) and previous Laureates Alison Lester, Boori Monty Pryor and Jackie French.

Says Morris “As Laureate, I’ll champion stories and everything stories can offer. I aim to be a kind of ambassador for young readers, and for the community of people who write for them. An emissary from the place where young imaginations draw strength from stories and grow and engage and become our best hope for the future."

Ron Gorman, Chair ACLA says "We were delighted when Morris accepted the role of Children's Laureate for 2018/19. His impressive body of work is well known by Australians, young and old, who will no doubt celebrate his Laureateship. Increasingly, the research is showing us that reading changes lives – Morris will be a persuasive voice in bringing Australians to value reading and children's literature."

The theme for Morris Gleitzman’s two-year term as Australian Children’s Laureate will be ‘Stories Make Us - Stories Create Our Future’.

“Young people need stories more than ever,” Gleitzman says. “Stories to delight, stories to beguile, stories to inspire, stories to move deeply. And through these experiences, stories that equip young readers to embrace an often dark and uncertain world with optimism, resolve and creativity.”

For more than thirty years Morris Gleitzman has been writing books for young people that explore a range of subjects, sometimes serious, sometimes funny and sometimes confronting, but always in unexpected ways. His titles include Two Weeks With the Queen, Boy Overboard, Bumface, Toad Rage and the acclaimed ‘Felix’ series which includes Soon, winner of the CBCA Book of the Year for Younger Readers. His books are published in more than 20 countries.


>> To discover which Morris Gleitzman book you should read next, click here.

More features

See all
Australia’s top 10 kids’ books of 2020

Here are some of the best selling books of the year.

Let us tell you a story

Australian authors and personalities read some of our favourite picture books.

Michelle Obama documentary, Becoming, released on 6 May

Netflix have announced a new documentary following Michelle Obama during the publication of her bestselling memoir, Becoming, which will be released on Wednesday 6 May.

The Chestnut Man to become Netflix Original series

We were thrilled to hear Netflix announce its second Danish original series, The Chestnut Man, at Copenhagen TV Festival this week.

Announcing The Beautiful Ones by Prince

To be published October 2019. 

Write It Fellowship shortlist

The fellowship recipients will be announced 28 June 2019.

2019 ABIAs shortlist

Winners to be announced on Thursday 2 May 2019.

Penguin writes crime thriller

Announcing the first book written by an actual Penguin. To be published 2020. 

2019 Indie Book Awards

We are delighted to share some wins from the 2019 Indie Book Awards.

Penguin Literary Prize winner announced

We are delighted to announce the winner for the 2019 Penguin Literary Prize.

2019 ABIAs longlist

Winners to be announced on Thursday 2 May 2019.  

Looking for more news?

See all news