> Skip to content
Read an extract About the book
  • Published: 8 January 2019
  • ISBN: 9781784162092
  • Imprint: Black Swan
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 464
  • RRP: $19.99

Where The Light Gets In

The Sunday Times bestseller




The heart-warming, poignant and evocative new novel from the bestselling author of A Hundred Pieces of Me and All I Ever Wanted.

'Lucy Dillon's books never fail to make me happy' Jenny Colgan

Sometimes the cracks in your heart can be mended in unexpected ways . . .

If Lorna's learned one thing, it's that courage is something you paint on like red lipstick, even when you're panicking inside. And right now, with the keys to the town’s gallery in her hand, Lorna feels about as courageous as the anxious little dachshund trembling beside her.

Sick of life in the big city, Lorna’s come home to fulfil her dream of running a successful art gallery. Desperate for change, Lorna just wants a fresh start but can she find it in Longhampton? This is where her tight-knit family shattered into pieces. It's where her doubts about herself took root and where she first fell in love and had her heart broken. It's everything she was running away from.

But life and love can surprise you and all Lorna has to do to let the light in is open her heart . . .
An uplifting and inspiring novel about second chances and soon to be realised dreams. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Veronica Henry and Lucy Diamond.
____________________

AUTHORS AND READERS LOVE THIS BOOK:

'Full of love, truth, art and dogs. I absolutely loved it.' Katie Fforde
'Heart-gripping narrative'
'A beautiful, insightful and tender story. I felt bereft for having finished it' Milly Johnson
'Could not put it down'
UNEXPECTED LESSONS IN LOVE, THE NEW NOVEL FROM LUCY DILLON, IS COMING IN 2020 AND AVAILABLE FOR PRE-ORDER NOW.

  • Pub date: 8 January 2019
  • ISBN: 9781784162092
  • Imprint: Black Swan
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 464
  • RRP: $19.99

About the Author

Lucy Dillon

Sunday Times bestselling author Lucy Dillon grew up in Cumbria and read English at Cambridge, then read a lot of magazines as a press assistant in London, then read other people's manuscripts as a junior fiction editor. She now lives in a village outside Hereford with an old red Range Rover and too many books.

Lucy won the Romantic Novelists' Association Contemporary Romantic Novel prize in 2015 for A HUNDRED PIECES OF ME, and the Romantic Novel of the Year Award in 2010 for LOST DOGS AND LONELY HEARTS.

You can find out more at www.lucydillon.co.uk, follow her on Twitter @lucy_dillon, on Instagram @lucydillonbooks or find her on Facebook at www.facebook.com/pages/LucyDillonBooks.

Also by Lucy Dillon

See all

Praise for Where The Light Gets In

“Where the Light Gets In is full of love, truth, art and dogs. I absolutely loved it.”

Katie Fforde

“Life-affirming, funny and authentic, Lucy Dillon’s plot builds to a perfectly pitched emotional climax which will have you reaching for the tissues.”

Sunday Express

“Dillon has delivered another blinder . . . A bittersweet, moving examination of letting go and trusting one's own instincts in the face of self-doubt.”

Sara Lawrence, Daily Mail

“A beautiful insightful and tender story. I feel bereft for having finished it.”

Milly Johnson

“I always know I’m in safe hands with a new Lucy Dillon novel and I also know that I’ll be having a big, ugly, snotty cry before I reach the final page. A perfect Sunday afternoon treat of a book.”

Sarra Manning, Red Magazine

“Lucy Dillon's books never fail to make me happy.”

Jenny Colgan

“Prepare for your heartstrings to be tugged! Moving and ultimately satisfying.”

Fabulous Magazine

“This book is just beautiful inside and out . . . Written with such thought, such empathy, & capturing all those little nuances of living,loving and losing that make Lucy Dillon such a phenomenal storyteller.”

Penny Parkes

“Praise for Lucy Dillon”

:

“Bittersweet, lovely and ultimately redemptive; the kind of book that makes you want to live your own life better”

Jojo Moyes

“Lucy Dillon's books make the world a better place.”

Heat

“Satisfying and clever and deeply moving”

Sophie Kinsella

“No one tugs at the heartstrings quite like Lucy Dillon”

Red


Related titles