> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 August 2011
  • ISBN: 9781446437902
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 528
Categories:

Trouble In Paradise

A fantastically funny and feel-good tale from the East End…



The third in Chip Granger's acclaimed Soho series of novels opens as the Second World War ends - and hostilities begin in Paradise Gardens.

Perfect for fans of Donna Douglas and Nancy Revell, a heart-warming saga set in post war London from Sunday Times bestselling author Pip Granger. "She brings the East End to life..." - Barbara Windsor"Read it straight through..." - ***** Reader review."Love her writing." - ***** Reader review.***************************1945: The end of the war spreads joy through London, but for Zelda Fluck the news isn't all good. The end to hostilities will bring her violent husband Charlie home. It also sets off a chain of events that brings more strife and destruction to the people of Paradise Gardens in Hackney than did the Blitz.

That's not all. Zelda's nephew, Tony, is hanging around Brian Hole, a one-boy crime wave and only child of Ma Hole, leader of the local spivs.

But Tony can sing - he has, in fact, the voice of an angel - and Zelda's friend, Zinnia knows a voice coach in Soho whose lessons may be able to straighten Tony out.

The people Zelda meets there change her life. Will she find a way out of Hackney and her failed marriage?Trouble in Paradise is a prequel to Pip Granger's Rosie novels...

  • Published: 1 August 2011
  • ISBN: 9781446437902
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 528
Categories:

About the author

Pip Granger

Part of Pip Granger's early childhood was spent in the back seat of a light aircraft as her father smuggled brandy, tobacco and books across the English Channel to be sold in 1950s Soho, where she lived above the Two Is Café in Old Compton Street.

She travelled in Europe and Asia in the 1960s and '70s, and worked as a Special Needs teacher in Hackney in the 1980s, before quitting teaching to pursue her long- cherished ambition to write.

She now lives in the West Country with her husband.

For more information on Pip Granger and her books, visit her website: www.pipgranger.com.

Also by Pip Granger

See all

Praise for Trouble In Paradise

Writing from the heart, Granger is unique in popular fiction in that she is able to tie in a fictional family saga with the big social changes going on in post war London.It's also a great Tube read, that takes you on a nostalgic journey back to a lost cockney paradise that never was.

What’s On in London

Heart-warming East End story, brimming with lively characters and the issues and problems affecting a London community in 1945.

Peterborough Evening Telegraph

'She brings the East End to life'

Barbara Windsor

Highly evocative of a time, a place, a people, and a changing way of life in London at the end of World War II, this is a satisfying, compelling novel.

Booklist

Related titles