> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 June 2011
  • ISBN: 9781446437926
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 512
Categories:

No Peace For The Wicked

The East-End is brought to life in this heart-warming Cockney saga




The fourth in Pip Granger's acclaimed Soho series of novels featuring nine-year-old Rosie - and Lizzy, a heart-warming new character destined for adventure and romance.

Perfect for fans of Donna Douglas and Nancy Revell, a feel-good, uplifting and funny saga set in post war London from Sunday Times bestseller Pip Granger. "A colourful, deeply nostalgic evocation of Soho in the Fifties, drawing heavily on the author's own childhood." -- CHOICE"She brings the East End to life" -- BARBARA WINDSOR"Lovely book - enjoyed it immensely. Very funny and very accurate of London in the 1950s." -- ***** Reader review"A brilliant, amusing, unputdownable book." -- ***** Reader review**********************************************

THE WAR MAY BE LONG OVER BUT LIFE IN SOHO IS ANYTHING BUT CALM...1956: Lizzy is working in Soho when Peace, the daughter of her employer Bandy Bunion's estranged sister, comes to stay. Peace is a beautiful sixteen-year-old part-Chinese girl who has run away from boarding school and who has no intention of going back.

Having lost her own daughter - Rosie's best friend - to leukaemia two years previously, she feels a special bond with Peace.

She also feels that life has been rather quiet recently; but things are about to change dramatically...

When Peace goes missing a second time, and no one knows where she's gone, it looks as though there's only one thing to do. Lizzy asks TC - her new man and a policeman - to help her find Peace, and the first place they must visit is the dock area in Limehouse...

No Peace for the Wicked paints a picture of 1950s Soho so authentic you feel as though you are there...

  • Published: 1 June 2011
  • ISBN: 9781446437926
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 512
Categories:

About the author

Pip Granger

Part of Pip Granger's early childhood was spent in the back seat of a light aircraft as her father smuggled brandy, tobacco and books across the English Channel to be sold in 1950s Soho, where she lived above the Two Is Café in Old Compton Street.

She travelled in Europe and Asia in the 1960s and '70s, and worked as a Special Needs teacher in Hackney in the 1980s, before quitting teaching to pursue her long- cherished ambition to write.

She now lives in the West Country with her husband.

For more information on Pip Granger and her books, visit her website: www.pipgranger.com.

Also by Pip Granger

See all

Related titles