> Skip to content
  • Published: 4 May 2021
  • ISBN: 9781761042720
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 240
  • RRP: $15.99

Tom Weekly 5: My Life and Other Weaponised Muffins




Another wild ride with Tom Weekly as he faces off against killer muffins and more.

'Like Dahl, Bancks is passionate about inspiring a love of reading in the young by placing fun at the centre of his storytelling.' Andy Griffiths, author of the Treehouse series


I'm Tom Weekly and eating is my favourite sport.

My mum's raspberry muffins are weapons of minor destruction. I've been trapped inside a runaway car on a trip to buy ice cream. I accidentally invented meatball bungee. And my recipe for chocolate mousse has a secret ingredient that you don't even want to know.

What would you rather do?
1. Ride a shark or a rhino?
2. Kiss a dog or a cat?
3. Needle in the eye or bum set on fire?

"Fans of Griffiths, Gleitzman and Jennings will be thrilled to have this in their collection." Kids Book Review


______________________

More Praise for Tristan Bancks:

'Reading Tristan Bancks is like jumping on a rollercoaster – fun, exciting and a bit dangerous, too. Where were books like this when I was a kid?' John Boyne, author of The Boy in The Striped Pyjamas

'A tense, hard-edged, no-holds-barred thriller.' Anthony Horowitz, author of the Alex Rider series

'A high stakes adventure that will keep you guessing and breathless until the very end.' Michael Gerard Bauer, author of Don't Call Me Ishmael


Also by Tristan Bancks:
Scar Town
Two Wolves
The Fall
Detention
Cop and Robber
Ginger Meggs
Nit Boy
Mac Slater 1: Coolhunter
Mac Slater 2: Imaginator
Tom Weekly 1: My Life and Other Stuff I Made Up
Tom Weekly 2: My Life and Other Stuff That Went Wrong
Tom Weekly 3: My Life and Other Massive Mistakes
Tom Weekly 4: My Life and Other Exploding Chickens
Tom Weekly 5: My Life and Other Weaponised Muffins
Tom Weekly 6: My Life and Other Failed Experiments

  • Published: 4 May 2021
  • ISBN: 9781761042720
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 240
  • RRP: $15.99

Other books in the series

About the authors

Tristan Bancks

Tristan Bancks tells stories for the page and screen. His books for kids and teens include Two Wolves, The Fall, Detention, the Tom Weekly series, Nit Boy and Ginger Meggs, a 100th anniversary book of short stories based on characters created by his great-great uncle, Jimmy Bancks, in 1921. Tristan's books have won and been shortlisted for many awards, including a Children's Book Council of Australia Honour Book, the Prime Minister's Literary Awards, ABIA, YABBA, KOALA, NSW Premier's Literary Awards and Queensland Literary Awards. His latest book is Cop and Robber, a tense, fast-paced crime novel with lots of laughs for age 10+.

Tristan is a writer-ambassador for literacy non-profit Room to Read. He is currently working with producers to develop a number of his books for the screen. He's excited by the future of storytelling and inspiring others to create. You can find out more about Tristan’s books, play games, watch videos, join his Young Writer's StorySchool and help him try to change the world at tristanbancks.com.

Gus Gordon

Gus Gordon is an internationally acclaimed illustrator and author. He has illustrated and written over 80 books for children. His illustrations are known for their loose and energetic line work, mixed media and humour. His writing is always anthropomorphic. He attributes this to his love of Kenneth Grahame's Wind in The Willows.
Gus's first picture book, Wendy, was a Notable Book in the 2010 Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Picture Book of the Year Awards.

His second picture book, Herman and Rosie, now published in twelve countries, has been internationally acclaimed and awarded.

Somewhere Else was published by Penguin Random House Australia in 2016 and has won many awards internationally, including a 2017 CBCA Notable book and 2017 book of the year for 5-8 year olds in the Speech Pathology book awards in Australia.

Praise for Tom Weekly 5: My Life and Other Weaponised Muffins

Tristan can go from writing the powerful and haunting Two Wolves to the whacky humour of his character Tom Weekly in the ‘My Life’ series with seeming ease . . . This fifth ‘My Life’ book is as laugh out loud funny as the others and the third to include a story written by a young writer . . . My Life and Other Weaponised Muffins is packed full of great images by Gus Gordon, short stories, jokes, cartoons, quizzes and lists ‘by’ character Tom Weekly and includes the idea of selling your head lice for fun and profit and raspberry and white chocolate muffins as weapons of minor destruction.

Megan Daley, Children's Books Daily

This title is a laugh-a-minute, rip-roaring read for adults and children alike.

Lisa Mercer, Reading Time