> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 2 July 2019
  • ISBN: 9781787460645
  • Imprint: Arrow
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 496
  • RRP: $19.99

Thrawn: Alliances (Star Wars)




The sequel to the Sunday Times Bestseller Thrawn



Grand Admiral Thrawn and Darth Vader ally against a threat to the Empire in this new novel from bestselling author Timothy Zahn.

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

Grand Admiral Thrawn and Darth Vader team up against a threat to the Empire in this thrilling novel from bestselling author Timothy Zahn.

“I have sensed a disturbance in the Force.”

Ominous words under any circumstances, but all the more so when uttered by Emperor Palpatine. On Batuu, at the edges of the Unknown Regions, a threat to the Empire is taking root—its existence little more than a glimmer, its consequences as yet unknowable. But it is troubling enough to the Imperial leader to warrant investigation by his most powerful agents: ruthless enforcer Lord Darth Vader and brilliant strategist Grand Admiral Thrawn. Fierce rivals for the emperor’s favor, and outspoken adversaries on Imperial affairs—including the Death Star project—the formidable pair seem unlikely partners for such a crucial mission. But the Emperor knows it’s not the first time Vader and Thrawn have joined forces. And there’s more behind his royal command than either man suspects.

In what seems like a lifetime ago, General Anakin Skywalker of the Galactic Republic, and Commander Mitth’raw’nuruodo, officer of the Chiss Ascendancy, crossed paths for the first time. One on a desperate personal quest, the other with motives unknown . . . and undisclosed. But facing a gauntlet of dangers on a far-flung world, they forged an uneasy alliance—neither remotely aware of what their futures held in store.

Now, thrust together once more, they find themselves bound again for the planet where they once fought side by side. There they will be doubly challenged—by a test of their allegiance to the Empire . . . and an enemy that threatens even their combined might.

  • Pub date: 2 July 2019
  • ISBN: 9781787460645
  • Imprint: Arrow
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 496
  • RRP: $19.99

About the Author

Timothy Zahn

Timothy Zahn is the author of more than forty novels, nearly ninety short stories and novellas, and four short-fiction collections. In 1984, he won the Hugo Award for Best Novella. Zahn is best known for his Star Wars novels (Heir to the Empire, Dark Force Rising, The Last Command, Specter of the Past, Vision for the Future, Survivor's Quest, Outbound Flight, Allegiance, Choices of One, and Scoundrels), with more than four million copies of his books in print. Other books inlcude the Cobra series, the Quadrail series, and the young adult Dragonback series. Zahn has a B.S. in physics from Michigan State University and an M.S. from the University of Illinois. He lives with his family on the Oregon coast.

Also by Timothy Zahn

See all

Praise for Thrawn: Alliances (Star Wars)

“‘With Zahn at the height of his skills as a sci-fi writer, this latest instalment explores Thrawn’s past… a bad guy double bill’”

Starburst

“ Zahn's grasp of the STAR WARS universe and its characters never fails to be impeccable, with Alliances yet another classy read…[Zahn is] truly at his best here in the printed dimension- calculated, subtly menacing and, above all else, distinctly alien”

Star Wars Aficionado

“‘A must-read for either fans of the Clone Wars or Rebels TV series’”

Nudge

“The must-have original Star Wars novel of the year so far”

Star Wars Afiacnado (For Thrawn)

“Classic Zahn …A fun Star Wars action story”

Talk Star Wars Podcast

“Padmé is an absolute joy in this book... Zahn … is able to paint the edge of the galaxy with brush that is well accustomed to writing Star Wars fiction”

Fantha Tracks

“A great read”

The Future of the Force

“Classic Zahn … A fun Star Wars action story”

Talk Star Wars Podcast

“Fast-paced, action-packed … Timothy Zahn’s book is exactly what his fans would expect – sharp writing, good action, and good character development…Thrawn: Alliances is a great book. The only complaint: there’s just one book left in the trilogy and there needs to be more.”

Dork Side of the Force

“It’s always fun to see two bigwig baddies passive-aggressively needle each other”

TOTAL film

“‘A great read and listen. If you’re a Thrawn fan like me, you have to read this, but if you’re not I still think this is essential reading’”

Jedi News

“Zahn knocks it out of the park with this impressive, intriguing and exciting tale of two of Star Wars’ most notorious villains.’ 5/5 stars”

Outer Rim Reviews

“‘I highly recommend picking this one up for fans of Clone Wars, Rebels, Vader, and Padmé, as well as Thrawn himself’”

Geek Mom

“‘Zahn’s handling of Thrawn and Vader (as well as Anakin and Padmé) is the most important aspect of the book and really sells it. Fans of The Clone Wars and Rebels will really enjoy this tale of two of the franchise’s biggest villains teaming up.’”

Flickering Myth

“One of the best of the new Star Wars novels”

Nudge (for Thrawn)


Related titles