> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 December 2020
  • ISBN: 9781405930635
  • Imprint: Michael Joseph
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 400
  • RRP: $19.99

The Winter Agent




A gripping thriller set in occupied France, based on a shocking historical conspiracy that reached the very top of the British establishment

January, 1944. A bitter winter grips occupied France, where Marc Reece leads an SOE circuit facing deadly risks, operating in secret to sabotage the German war effort.

But Marc has a second mission, secret from even his fellow agents - including Charlotte, the woman with whom he has ill-advisedly fallen in love. Everyone knows that D-Day is coming, and that the hours following the Allied landings will decide the war - and every last scrap of information he can provide might make all the difference to the fate of the Western world.

But when the circuit is ambushed - with deadly consequences - Marc realizes there may be a spy in their ranks, putting at risk everything they've been fighting for.

Then Charlotte goes missing. Marc faces an awful question - is she in peril, or has he been betrayed by the only woman he was sure he could trust? And if he risks everything in order to find her, what will become of his mission and of the lives that depend on it?

Dramatic and atmospheric, this is the story of a man operating in the darkest of circumstances, and the unimaginable sacrifices war demands of those who fight it.

  • Published: 1 December 2020
  • ISBN: 9781405930635
  • Imprint: Michael Joseph
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 400
  • RRP: $19.99

Also by Gareth Rubin

See all

Praise for The Winter Agent

Praise for Liberation Square

-

Far more than an intellectual exercise - it is a gripping story, with heart

Daily Telegraph, Best Thrillers of the Year

(A) richly imagined thriller . . . Tightly plotted, tense and set in a chillingly plausible world

Sunday Mirror

An interesting take on the 'What if we'd lost World War II?' debate. A gripping and well-imagined yarn

Sun

A tight and compelling thriller

SFX

Rubin constructs a tantalising alternative world with 1950s Britain riven apart by its own version of the Berlin Wall - and all because the D-Day landings failed. Against this dystopian nightmare, the author overlays a murder mystery that's sure to appeal to fans of SS-GB, The Man in the High Castle, and Fatherland

David Young, CWA Dagger-winning author of Stasi Child

A gripping murder mystery set in an alternative 1950s Britain. Rubin's London, split between American and Soviet zones after a disastrous World War Two, is vividly realised and his story is elegantly constructed. One not to miss

William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier

In the great tradition of SS-GB and Fatherland, Rubin's alternative-1950s murder mystery takes an ingenious premise - the Americans and the Soviets have carved up Britain between them after rescuing the country from the Nazis - and makes it come alive through sheer storytelling skill

Jake Kerridge

A twisting murder mystery combined with a chillingly plausible alternative history of a divided Cold War London. Brilliant

Mason Cross, Richard and Judy bestselling author of The Samaritan

Exhaustively researched, superbly realised, The Winter Agent is a superior SOE novel. Gareth Rubin really knows his stuff and it shows on every page

Howard Linskey

Smart, stylish, meticulously researched. Rich in loyalty and double dealing, captures perfectly the horror and heroism, delivered at a cracking pace

Sun

Races along, with plenty of surprises

Times

Brilliant. Blends meticulously researched history with a plot of double-crossing and deception

Best

An authentic and chilling tale

Sun

Gripping

i

Gripping . . . For someone with a keen interest in history, as well as a love of a well-written thriller, this book provides perfect escapism

Sun

Related titles