> Skip to content

Set in the Deep South pre Gone with the Wind and the Civil War, The Wedding Gift is a compelling and powerful story of slavery, abuse and passion. Perfect for fans of The Help.

Set in the Deep South pre Gone with the Wind and the Civil War, The Wedding Gift is a compelling and powerful story of slavery, abuse and passion. Perfect for fans of The Help.

What if, on your wedding day, you were given your sister – as your slave?

When wealthy plantation owner Cornelius Allen marries off his daughter Clarissa, he presents her with a wedding gift: a young slave woman called Sarah.

The two girls have grown up together but their lives could not have been more different. Clarissa is white and is used to a life of privilege and ease. Sarah is black and is used to a life of slavery and hard work.

When Sarah decides her future lies outside the plantation, it sets in motion a series of events that will have devastating consequences for them both.

Reviews

Bodden’s absorbing page-turner maintains its suspense right up to the final pages, when there’s one last surprise for those hoping for a happy ending.

Sunday Express

A powerful and engaging tale of slavery, passion and the quest for freedom.

www.candis.co.uk

Stunning debut...Bodden weaves a page-turning tangled web of misogyny, greed, scandal and violence in this powerful story about races colliding against the backdrop of America's darkest era.

Publisher's Weekly starred review

As educational as it is compelling...Bodden writes with delicacy...An inspiring read for historical fiction fans, especially those who like strong female narrators.

Booklist

Sure to become 2013's sleeper hit...

Ebony Magazine

A riveting read.

Essentials

Fans of The Help, The Secret Life of Bees and Oldest Living Confederate Widow Tells All will relish Bodden's accomplished debut novel. Its subject matter and touching characters make it a perfect choice for book clubs.

Book Reporter

A wonderful story filled with plenty of emotion. A book that will keep you turning and turning the pages until the incredible ending! Highly recommended.

Historical Novel Review

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9780099579984

    September 1, 2014

    Arrow

    416 pages

    RRP $19.99

    Online retailers

    • Amazon
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Dymocks
    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781448149506

    May 9, 2013

    Cornerstone Digital

    416 pages

    Online retailers

    • Amazon Kindle AU
    • iBooks
    • Google Play EBook AU
    • Kobo Ebook
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks