> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 15 August 2017
  • ISBN: 9780552173650
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 448
  • RRP: $19.99

The Telephone Girls




A wonderful story of camaraderie, friendship and triumph over adversity set in 1930s Bradford, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn, Donna Douglas.

1936. George Street, West Yorkshire, houses a gleaming, brand-new telephone exchange where a group of capable girls works the complicated electrical switchboards. Among them are Cynthia, Norma and Millicent, who relish the busy, efficient atmosphere and the independence and friendship their jobs have given them.

But when Millicent connects a telephone call for an old friend, and listens in to the conversation - breaking one of the telephonists' main rules - she, and then Norma and Cynthia too, become caught up in a story of scandal, corruption and murder.

Soon, the jobs of all three girls are on the line.
Norma’s romance is in ruins.
And Millicent has entered a world of vice . . .

In tough times, the telephone girls will need to call on their friends more than ever.

A wonderful story of camaraderie, friendship and triumph over adversity that fans of Daisy Styles, Donna Douglas and Call the Midwife will adore.

  • Pub date: 15 August 2017
  • ISBN: 9780552173650
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 448
  • RRP: $19.99

About the Author

Jenny Holmes

Jenny Holmes lives in a beautiful part of Yorkshire and sets her sagas in the industrial heartland nearby. She enjoys horse riding, gardening and walking her dog in the dales. She also writes children’s books as Jenny Oldfield.

Also by Jenny Holmes

See all

Praise for The Telephone Girls

“Praise for Jenny Holmes”

:

“Vibrant and heart-warming, Jenny Holmes makes Chapel Street come alive.”

Sunday Express on The Shop Girls of Chapel Street

“[Jenny Holmes] creates wonderfully human and flawed characters . . . A thrilling, surprising and bittersweet tale . . . Fans of Call the Midwife will particularly enjoy it”

On: Yorkshire magazine

“Gritty and uplifting, it's a tale of triumph over adversity”

Choice on The Mill Girls of Albion Lane


Related titles