> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 April 2021
  • ISBN: 9781473574786
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 368
Categories:

The Air Raid Girls




The start of an exciting new WWII-set series novel from Jenny Holmes, author of The Spitfire Girls and Wedding Bells for Land Girls - for readers of Donna Douglas and Nancy Revell.

**Don't miss the brand-new instalment in the Air Raid Girls series, The Air Raid Girls at Christmas - available now**

---------------------------------------------

May, 1941. Meet the Air Raid Girls: three young women keen to do their bit during the Yorkshire blitz.

Connie's life has taken an unexpected turn since her husband died - she's living at home and working in the family bakery - but night shifts as an ARP Warden give her a firm sense of purpose.

Her younger sister Lizzie is eager to play her part too, perhaps as an ambulance driver. Her fiance refuses to support her decision... but does he really know what's best for her?

Twenty-year-old Pamela has led a sheltered life, but when her family's home is destroyed in a raid she must learn to stand on her own two feet - helped by new friends.

As bombs fall and fires rage, the young women face the destruction of everything they've ever known. Can their fighting spirit prevail? And what of their families and the men they love?

A thrilling and heartwarming new story of friendship, love and duty in wartime by the author of The Spitfire Girls, for fans of Nancy Revell and Donna Douglas.
---------------------------------------------

Readers love Jenny Holmes:

'There wasn't anything I didn't like about this book' 5 star review
'I couldn't put this book down' 5 star review
'Loved the whole story' 5 star review
'This is a totally absorbing book' 5 star review
'An excellent read put together in fine style' 5 star review

  • Published: 15 April 2021
  • ISBN: 9781473574786
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 368
Categories:

About the author

Jenny Holmes

Jenny Holmes lives in a beautiful part of Yorkshire and sets her sagas in the industrial heartland nearby. She enjoys horse riding, gardening and walking her dog in the dales. She also writes children’s books as Jenny Oldfield.

Also by Jenny Holmes

See all

Praise for The Air Raid Girls

Praise for Jenny Holmes

:

Gritty and uplifting, it's a tale of triumph over adversity.

Choice on The Mill Girls of Albion Lane

A story vibrant with the atmosphere of the time and fuelled by the power of duty and friendship.

Peterborough Telegraph

Vibrant and heart-warming, Jenny Holmes makes Chapel Street come alive.

Sunday Express on The Shop Girls of Chapel Street

Gritty and uplifting, it's a tale of triumph over adversity

Choice on The Mill Girls of Albion Lane

Related titles