> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 17 September 2019
  • ISBN: 9780241428214
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 272
  • RRP: $16.99

The Prom




The Prom is a laugh-out-loud read perfect for fans of Love, Simon and Dear Evan Hansen.

Seventeen-year-old Emma Nolan wants only one thing before she graduates: to dance with her girlfriend at the senior prom. But in her small town of Edgewater, Indiana, that’s like asking for the moon.

Alyssa Greene is her high school’s “it” girl: popular, head of the student council, and daughter of the PTA president. She also has a secret. She’s been dating Emma for the last year and a half.

When word gets out that Emma plans to bring a girl as her date, it stirs a community-wide uproar that spirals out of control. Now, the PTA, led by Alyssa’s mother, is threatening to cancel the prom altogether.

Enter Barry Glickman and Dee Dee Allen, two Broadway stars who decide to take up the cause and get a little publicity along the way. But when they arrive in Indiana to fight on Emma’s behalf, their good intentions go quickly south.

Between Emma facing the fray head-on, Alyssa wavering about coming out, and Barry and Dee Dee basking in all the attention, it’s the perfect prom storm. Only when this unlikely group comes together do they realize that love is always worth fighting for.

  • Pub date: 17 September 2019
  • ISBN: 9780241428214
  • Imprint: Puffin
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 272
  • RRP: $16.99

Also by Saundra Mitchell

See all

Related titles