> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 15 May 2018
  • ISBN: 9780552173254
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $14.99

The Orphans of Ardwick




Three orphaned street urchins struggle for a better life in this gritty historical saga set in 1860s Manchester.

After a cold, hard winter on the streets, three orphan children are about to give up hope when an unexpected turn of events brings them to the doorstep of a grand house in Ardwick, Manchester.

Taken in by the firm but kind-hearted cook, the young friends can hardly believe their luck. But behind Bracken House’s impressive façade lies a household steeped in troubles and mystery, with residents above and below stairs battling their own demons and dark secrets.

Not everyone is happy about the new arrivals, and soon the orphans’ safety is in danger. If they want to stay in the first home any of them have known for years, they must unravel the past and bring hope to the future. Will they succeed? Or will they come to regret ever leaving the mean slum streets they once called home?
Emma Hornby's page-turning, absorbing sagas will tug at your heartstrings. Fans of Dilly Court, Rosie Goodwin and Maggie Hope will love Emma Hornby.

  • Pub date: 15 May 2018
  • ISBN: 9780552173254
  • Imprint: Corgi
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $14.99

About the Author

Emma Hornby

Emma Hornby lives on a tight-knit working-class estate in Bolton and has read sagas all her life. Before pursuing a career as a novelist, she had a variety of jobs, from care assistant for the elderly, to working in a Blackpool rock factory. She was inspired to write after researching her family history; like the characters in her books, many generations of her family eked out life amidst the squalor and poverty of Lancashire's slums.

Also by Emma Hornby

See all

Praise for The Orphans of Ardwick

“A woman’s lot was shocking in the 1850s as this Cooksonlike saga brilliantly describes... Have some tissues handy!”

Peterborough Telegraph on A Shilling for a Wife


Related titles