> Skip to content
  • Published: 11 September 2022
  • ISBN: 9781787634701
  • Imprint: Bantam Press
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 336
  • RRP: $52.99
Categories:

A Daughter's War



A brand-new page-turning WWII saga from the bestselling author of A Shilling for a Wife, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin


A brand-new page-turning WWII saga from the bestselling author of A Shilling for a Wife, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin

For Renee Rushmore, the arrival of war brings some much-needed freedom. Her father rules the house with an iron fist and, lately, his attentions towards her have turned more sinister.

Desperate to escape him, and with men leaving for battle in their droves, she finds work on an understaffed farm, where she meets kindly lad Jimmy. She soon finds that her feelings for Jimmy go beyond friendship, but when he is called up to war, and she's thrown off the farm due to a misunderstanding, Renee is forced to return home.

Jimmy's safe return is her only hope of a happy future, but the end of the war is a long way off, and her father is getting worse.

Will she be able to survive the bombs, the separation from Jimmy and her father's cruelty?

Readers love Emma Hornby:
'Similar to Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court, Emma Hornby tells a brilliant story'
'Emma Hornby's books just keep getting better and better'
'Keep writing Emma, you are very talented and can't wait for your next book'
'Emma is a wonderful storyteller and I can't wait for the next one!'
'Thank you again Emma Hornby for a captivating read'
'Another beautifully written story by Emma Hornby'

  • Published: 11 September 2022
  • ISBN: 9781787634701
  • Imprint: Bantam Press
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 336
  • RRP: $52.99
Categories:

About the author

Emma Hornby

Emma Hornby lives on a tight-knit working-class estate in Bolton and has read sagas all her life. Before pursuing a career as a novelist, she had a variety of jobs, from care assistant for the elderly, to working in a Blackpool rock factory. She was inspired to write after researching her family history; like the characters in her books, many generations of her family eked out life amidst the squalor and poverty of Lancashire's slums.

Also by Emma Hornby

See all

Related titles