> Skip to content
  • Published: 18 February 2021
  • ISBN: 9781473560116
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 400

The Maid's Disgrace

A gripping and romantic Victorian saga from the bestselling author




A gritty and page-turning historical saga, from Northern England's answer to Dilly Court.


**Don't miss Emma Hornby's first WWII saga, HER WARTIME SECRET - available now**

----------------------------

Manchester, 1842
Phoebe Parsons is a liar...a shameless harlot with unscrupulous morals...

Phoebe Parsons is destitute, disgraced, and alone. After her mistress tragically dies, Phoebe is forced back onto the poverty-ridden streets of Manchester by her unforgiving new master. Desperately searching for work as a domestic maid, Phoebe soon discovers her reputation is in ruins.

Fearing for her future and haunted by the harshness of her abandonment, Phoebe finds herself living with thieves and drunks in the smog and squalor - until she meets Victor Hayes. An officer removed from his duty and shamed by a cruel lie, Mr Hayes is a kind face among the uncertain threats of living in the alleyways. But Phoebe soon realises the sacrifices she must make to rebuild from the ground up...

As their two worlds collide, can they make a new life from the wreckage? Or will the judgement of their peers make a pauper of Phoebe?

A gritty and page-turning historical saga from the bestselling author of A Shilling for a Wife, perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin.
----------------------------
Readers love Emma Hornby:

'Similar to Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court, Emma Hornby tells a brilliant story that will keep you guessing with twists and turns. Pure talent.'

'Emma Hornby's books just keep getting better and better. Honest, gritty, lovely characters.'

'Keep writing Emma, you are very talented and can't wait for your next book. I've read them all.'

'Emma is a wonderful storyteller and I can't wait for the next one!'

'Thank you again Emma Hornby for a captivating read'

'Another beautifully written story by Emma Hornby'

  • Published: 18 February 2021
  • ISBN: 9781473560116
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 400

About the author

Emma Hornby

Emma Hornby lives on a tight-knit working-class estate in Bolton and has read sagas all her life. Before pursuing a career as a novelist, she had a variety of jobs, from care assistant for the elderly, to working in a Blackpool rock factory. She was inspired to write after researching her family history; like the characters in her books, many generations of her family eked out life amidst the squalor and poverty of Lancashire's slums.

Also by Emma Hornby

See all

Praise for The Maid's Disgrace

A woman's lot was shocking in the 1850s as this Cooksonlike saga brilliantly describes... Have some tissues handy!

Peterborough Telegraph

A captivating read

Woman's Weekly

Related titles