> Skip to content

A magical, medieval adventure.
Based on the life of Marie de France, poet, adventuress and lover of Richard the Lionheart, this omnibus edition of The LAY LINES TRILOGY encompasses two much-loved works by Sophie Masson, THE KNIGHT BY THE POOL and THE LADY OF THE FLOWERS, and brings Marie's tale to its dramatic conclusion with the third book in the series, THE STONE OF OAKENFAST.
The life of the beautiful Marie de France is changed irrevocably by an encounter with an otherworldly knight, Tydorel, in a haunted forest full of secrets. On the death of her husband, a Breton lord, Marie ventures forth into the medieval courts of France, Brittany, England and Wales, where she is f'ted by Eleanor of Aquitaine, and takes Richard the Lionheart as her lover. But the courts of English royalty and the mysterious magical Otherworlds are strange and dangerous places for a young poet, and Marie's journey is destined to be an adventure she will never forget…


'This is a captivating book, telling a tale of courage and triumph in two parallel worlds - the world of Norman England and a realm of elves and enchantments... An entrancing blend of imagination and scholarship, with a deft touch of humour.' Juliet Marillier, author of DAUGHTER OF THE FOREST

Formats & editions

  • Paperback


    August 3, 2001

    Bantam Australia

    1279 pages

    RRP $21.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Amazon
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

Also by Sophie Masson

Hunter's Moon
The Crystal Heart
Scarlet in the Snow
Moonlight And Ashes
The Maharajah's Ghost
The Road To Camelot
The Tyrant's Nephew
The Curse Of Zohreh
Snow, Fire, Sword
Laylines Trilogy #2
Laylines Trilogy #1
The Hoax
The Sun is Rising


Ready Player One
Humans, Bow Down
The Handmaid's Tale
Brave New World
Animal Farm
The Last Jedi: Expanded Edition (Star Wars)
The Earthsea Quartet
The Man In The High Castle
I Am Number Four
The Long Utopia
Star Trek
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story
Lament for the Fallen
Creation Machine
Star Wars: From a Certain Point of View
The One
Doctor Who: The Pirate Planet