> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 24 April 2014
  • ISBN: 9781446487297
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 448

The King's Return

(Thomas Hill 3)




Brutal murder, deceit and lies as new monarch ascends the throne in 17th century London - Andrew Swanston's new Thomas Hill historical crime thriller is spot on for fans of C J Sansom, Rory Clements and S J Parris.

The king’s coronation brings hope. Until a murderer strikes.
Spring 1661: After years of civil war followed by Oliver Cromwell's joyless rule as Lord Protector, England awaits the coronation of King Charles II. The mood in London is one of relief and hope for a better future.
But when two respectable gentlemen are found in a foul lane with their throats cut, it becomes apparent that England’s enemies are using the newly re-established post office for their own ends. There are traitors at work and plans to overthrow the king. Another war is possible.
Thomas Hill, in London visiting friends, is approached by the king’s security advisor and asked to take charge of deciphering coded letters intercepted by the post office. As the body count rises and the killer starts preying on women, the action draws closer to Thomas – and his loved ones. He finds himself dragged into the hunt for the traitors and the murderer, but will he find them before it’s too late?

  • Pub date: 24 April 2014
  • ISBN: 9781446487297
  • Imprint: Transworld Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 448

About the Author

Andrew Swanston

Andrew Swanston read law at Cambridge, but was inspired to write by his lifelong interest in early modern history. His Thomas Hill novels – The King’s Spy, The King’s Exile and The King’s Return – are set against the backdrops of the English Civil War, Cromwell’s Commonwealth and the early Restoration respectively. He is also the author of Waterloo: The Bravest Man. The first in a new series of historical thrillers set during the reign of Elizabeth I, Incendium (published in paperback as The Incendium Plot) introduces academic, lawyer and intelligencer Dr Christopher Radcliff. Andrew Swanston lives in Surrey.

Also by Andrew Swanston

See all

Related titles