> Skip to content
  • Published: 1 July 2010
  • ISBN: 9781407053677
  • Imprint: Vintage Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 256

The Decay Of The Angel

The fourth and final book in Mishima's landmark tetralogy, The Sea of Fertility

Bella Browning is attractive, successful and ambitious. She works hard, plays hard and adores her journalist husband Don (even though she doesn't always behave as well as she should). But deep down she knows there's something missing...a baby. Don is terrified by the prospect but after all, Bella's a top Management Consultant turning around multi-million pound corporations...she can handle this! Can't she?

In between bouts of morning sickness, raging hormones and a few indiscretions with gorgeous Chris from the office, she quickly discovers how very hard it is to be the perfect, working modern mother with the sex appeal of a Grecian goddess. But Bella is a woman of many talents and she's not about to be beaten...

Three in a Bed is a compulsive, funny and honest first novel about love, sex, business and babies in the twenty-first century.

  • Published: 1 July 2010
  • ISBN: 9781407053677
  • Imprint: Vintage Digital
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 256

About the author

Yukio Mishima

Yukio Mishima was born into a samurai family and imbued with the code of complete control over mind and body, and loyalty to the Emperor – the same code that produced the austerity and self-sacrifice of Zen. He wrote countless short stories and thirty-three plays, in some of which he acted. Several films have been made from his novels, including The Sound of Waves; Enjo, which was based on The Temple of the Golden Pavilion; and The Sailor Who Fell From Grace with the Sea. Among his other works are the novels Confessions of a Mask and Thirst For Love and the short-story collections Death in Midsummer and Acts of Worship.

The Sea of Fertility tetralogy, however, is his masterpiece. After Mishima conceived the idea of The Sea of Fertility in 1964, he frequently said he would die when it was completed. On November 25th, 1970, the day he completed The Decay of the Angel, the last novel of the cycle, Mishima committed seppuku (ritual suicide) at the age of forty-five.

Also by Yukio Mishima

See all

Praise for The Decay Of The Angel

A major literary creation

New York Times

This tetralogy is considered one of Yukio Mishima's greatest works. It could also be considered a catalogue of Mishima's obsessions with death, sexuality and the samurai ethic. Spanning much of the 20th century, the tetralogy begins in 1912 when Shigekuni Honda is a young man and ends in the 1960s with Honda old and unable to distinguish reality from illusion. En route, the books chronicle the changes in Japan that meant the devaluation of the samurai tradition and the waning of the aristocracy

Washington Post

One of the great writers of the twentieth century

Los Angeles Times

Japan's foremost man of letters


Mishima's novels exude a monstrous and compulsive weirdness, and seem to take place in a kind of purgatory for the depraved

Angela Carter

Related titles